Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I sauteed the meat along with the onions and celery, then added the flower, then slowly added the chicken stock & milk. I added a small bit of white wine after the milk mixed in (1/4 cup?). I used 2 cups of stock with 1 cup of skim milk since everyone said there wasn't enough sauce. I ended up with too much, lol. I didn't have any celery seed, but I used about a cup of celery instead of half. I did boil 2 medium diced potatoes and the carrots in salted water & drained, then added to the stock mix just before it was finished cooking down. 15 minutes was too much for the potatoes, but just right for the carrots. If I did it again, I would throw in the carrots and then wait 5 before putting in the diced potatoes. My wife doesn't like peas, so I didn't use them. I cooked it in a deep dish pie pan for 45 min at 375. It could have cooked 5 min longer. I mean no disrespect to Robbie Rice by making so many changes. I am sure that the original would be great. After over 30 years of cooking, it is hard to resist going your own way with things. However, with this recipe as a starting point, I made the best Pot Pie of my life. The wife said it was the best she had ever had too. She still put ketchup on it, man that really annoys me! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angel love
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love this recipe I made this for my family for the first time tonight and it was a big hit definitely gonna be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julee
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Followed this to the "T"- turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
My wife and I loved it! will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I had never made or eaten a chicken pot pie before as they never looked appetizing to me, however my husband had mentioned liking them and so I thought I would give it a try. Boy, am I glad I did! I made a few changes per others suggestions; added lots of garlic and seasonings to the onion mixture, doubled the sauce, I boiled my chicken in broth separately then shredded and seasoned with lemon pepper and onion powder, boiled veggies in chicken stock, and baked it at 375 for 44 minutes. The result was a delicious meal that all four of us enjoyed. The recipe is easy but time consuming due to making the pie crust and chopping all the veggies. I will reserve making it to the weekends when I have more time, but well worth the extra time involved in preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My family really enjoyed this!!!!!Children and adults alike. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We had this for Sunday supper last night. Everyone loved it!!! Used chicken broth to cook the veggies in and then used it to make the sauce as suggested by others. This is truly a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved it! Came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan Younis-Quran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So far it is the only chicken pot pie recipe that my husband has liked. I might try adding potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMonique
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. I used gluten free pie crusts and gluten free flour. I also used almond milk for this recipe. It turned out great! I miss comfort foods like this especially in the winter due to a gluten allergy and intolerance to dairy. I seasoned the meat and vegetables before boiling them. I also added more seasonings to the floor mixture. I did not have celery seed, so I sauteed fresh garlic with the onion and added chopped red pepper. I baked it on 325 degrees and it turned out perfectly. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States