Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Makes no sense to me at all why you wouldn't use the stock instead of canned broth. I sauteed' veggies (I chose frozen mixed, instead of just peas & carrots)onions(instead of with rue), & chicken in a TBSP fo EVOO. Then added water and couple tsp chicken bouillion, seasoned with s,p, sage & thyme. Then used my large salad spinner to drain, but keep stock. I made the rue in the still warm pot, using 2 cups of the saved stock. then because I think it's so much easier to mix sauce in the pot with chicken/veg mix, then trying to mix up in the crust. And finally, I looked at the recipe photos with quite a few burned crusts, and decided to cook at lower temp (375) for longer (40 min.). Thank you, Robbie Rice for a DELICIOUS recipe that I just changed for my preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was fantastic! The whole family really loved this. I will make this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Sabo
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
It was really good with my modifications. I cooked it at 375 for 45 minutes. Instead of peas (because my husband and I don't like peas) I used green beans. It made it so yummy and not dry at all! Definitely trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Sabo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great recipe, is a definite favorite of myself and family. Will say if you like thicker filling use cream of chicken and mushroom soup, use less chicken broth and milk. Recipe doesn't need extra salt the soup, broth, and pastry gives all the sodium you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamar Hall
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamar Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I cooked by the recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
it was awesome. left the peas out for son to be able to eat. He loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
So delicious. After making this, my one year old quickly learned how to say pot pie... She loves it!! Didn't change a thing. Recipe great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe 4 times now and let me tell you, it is delicious! OK, so I followed some other reviews and made adjustments. To me, this recipe NEEDS potatoes. I use 2 red potatoes, peel them and chop them to a little larger than bite size pieces. I boil them for 6-8 minutes before everything else goes in the pot. Also I add 2 bullion cubes to the water and season the chicken before putting it in. Oh yes, and I double the sauce mix. Since I season my meat and add bouliion cubes to the water to boil everything, I just use that liquid for the sauce instead of chicken broth. It essentially is chicken broth once everything has cooked in it. Any leftover sauce makes for amazing gravy for biscuits and gravy in the morning. Oh yes, doing an egg wash on the bottom crust before adding the filling keeps it from getting too soggy and an egg wash on top gets the top crust a gorgeous golden brown. Hands down my 6 year-old daughter's favorite meal for dinner. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe was delicious, I used mostly organic ingredients. Organic chicken broth, organic celery, organic carrots, organic milk, organic onions. I really want to get the all-purpose flour organic for the gravy but wasn't able to, maybe next time around but overall great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States