Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
One of my kids favorite. Same basic ingredients but I just do it differently. I boil a whole chicken saving the broth. I boil my carrots and potatoes. Debone and clean chicken. Make gravy using broth and cans of cream of chicken soup. Add chopped onion and can of peas. Add chopped celery and chicken. Last half hour or So add potatoes and carrots. Salt and pepper to taste. My kids prefer it over rice. Chicken pot pie without the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Sick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Yes I did make changes. Instead of chicken broth and milk I used a chicken gravy mix cutting time in half and pre baked the bottom crust for 8 minutes. I added a little more of the veggies and skipped the flour since the gravy mix is already thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Have made this many times with leftover turkey or chicken. I usually double the sauce. Saute onions & celery in butter until soft; sprinkle with flour, add seasonings, chicken broth, carrots, small cubed potatoes, cook until done, adding frozen peas the last few minutes. Make a roux of equal parts butter and flour, then add milk. Cook until thickened, then add to chicken-vegetable mixture. Cool. Use refrigerated roll out crusts. I made individual pot pies and a 2 crust packet will make 3 pot pies, top and bottom. Bake bottom crust (that is pricked) at 350 degrees until lightly browned, add ingredients, add top crust; crimp and slit top in 3 places. I then freeze individual pies on a cookie sheet. After frozen, wrap in freezer paper, freezer bags. You can either bake frozen or thaw in refrigerator and then bake. Thawed takes about 40-45 minutes. Frozen about 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Have used this for years and it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Popp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Best tasting chicken pot pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Perfect pot pie! Almost identical to the one I've been making for a very long time. Here's a twist on it. Just for a change, I sometimes forget the crust and serve it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folly Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
First of all, I think using another pie shell as the top of the potpie is GENIUS. I've been making chicken potpie for years, and I never thought of doing that. I do, however, have some major modifications to the dish, which, to me, make it a SIX STAR dish! First, I would cook potatoes, carrots and the chicken in chicken stock. I would add frozen corn near the end of he cooking process. Then drain the stock and put into a saucepan. I would thicken with a bit of Wondra flour and a little butter, That would all be poured over the meat and veggies in the pie shell. I would check for seasoning and place the top shell. Then, brush the top crust with some melted butter and place on a baking sheet. Bake 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. TERRIFIC flavor. The secret is to make that liquid as much like chicken gravy as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Miseyko Gutekunst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
once you start making this recipe you won't stop! my husband and kids drool over them when I make them. we are not fans of peas so we simply omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This was AMAZING. I used green beans instead of peas and added some garlic to the onions. I also used a deep dish crust. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Even my husband who doesn't normally like chicken pot pie- LOVES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States