Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My husband loved and kids loved it,the first time I made chicken pot pie . I did few changes, I added diced potato, chopped Italian parsley,garlic as well salt and pepper adjusted to taste and I omit the green peas. I doubled the sauce as others suggested. I made fresh pie crust as well. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This recipe was very good. My only comment, and it's not really a complaint, is that it took WAY LONGER than 20 min. to prepare. It was more like 75 minutes before I could put it in the oven, and I worked at a pretty good clip. I'm not sure if the expectation was that the onions, celery, and chicken were to have been chopped ahead of time, but there's no way I could do all of that in 20 minutes. Start to finish it took nearly two and a half hours. Good recipe though. Please don't let the time diminish the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Made this last night with a lot of modifications. My boyfriend and I thought it's was delicious and found out smittenkitchen published a similar one pot recipe to mine! Here goes: I first patted down the chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Next I seared them in butter then removed it from the pot. Then sautéed the vegetables in it (garlic, celery, onions) adding the celery seed then added the broth, carrots, peas, a potato and green beans. Next, I added the milk and the flour to thicken it up. Simmered that for about 5 minutes and then added the sliced chicken to sit for another 10. I was able to fit this in an 8 x 8 dish and 2 ramekins which we started with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Amazing chicken potpie. I added another 1/4C each of chicken broth and milk or else it would have been too dry. Husband (who doesn't particularly like meat pies) loved it. Will definitely make again. Makes great leftovers for work as well. I also pre-baked the bottom crust so that it wouldn't get soggy-about 5min at 350. The top crust got a little burnt at the edges only, but it was my first time making this so maybe I'll try a lower temperature and bake a little longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
As Allrecipes allstars, we were asked to make over a fall comfort food using Johnsonville® sausage. I think pot pies are symbolic with pure comfort food! In this recipe, I replaced the chicken with Jville fully cooked smoked turkey sausage. To the veggie mixture, I added chopped butternut squash and red bell pepper. I sauteed onion, butternut squash, celery, chopped red bell pepper dried thyme, dried sage and salt and pepper in some olive oil until softened. To that I added 2 cups mixed frozen veggies off the heat. I made the gravy as directed in the recipe above. I used a 10" cast iron skillet for the pie and assembled it as directed, then baked it as directed. Such a great meal and something a little different! The amount of gravy was perfect for this pie with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Lisa Hardy
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was absolutely awesome. I followed the recipe except for adding fresh corn cut from the cobb. Also used the Pillsbury rolled pie crusts. They taste like homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hardy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This came out absolutely amazing following the suggestions of others and making a few tweaks of my own. I added potatoes and boiled all the veggies and chicken in chicken broth and added a bullion cube. I added garlic powder and onion powder to the sauce and used low fat buttermilk instead of regular milk. I cooked it at 350 for about 40 minutes. It came out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I had 3# of boneless breast to I had to tie the qty for the amount of people I had. I made three pies and only have 1-1/2 leftover. Ok so I followed the directions to the tee except for the following, I added Thyme, Poultry seasoning, and McCormick garlic and herb (no salt) I substituted potatoes for peas (I am only one that likes them). I asked how it was at dinner and I saw were people eating and out responding. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made seven mini pot pies and my husband and boys who have never had pot pie of any kind all really loved them. I did have to make a few changes. First, we really don't like boiled chicken, so I browned two boneless skinless breasts, diced small, in olive oil with onion and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder and poultry seasoning. Once the chicken was cooked, I put in 3 Tblsp of flour then added some water I had boiled with bullion granules and the milk. While this thickened, I added the celery seed, more pepper and a bag of frozen peas and carrots. Then I filled my pie shells that I had pre-baked for about 6 minutes and brushed with egg whites. Finally, I placed the top crust on and brushed with egg whites. The results were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States