Chicken Pot Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by tenshi0019
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I've made chicken pot pie countless times using this recipe and it's always been delicious. I recommend adding peas or some other smaller vegetables so that there's more fillers between the chunky pieces of meat, carrots, and broccoli. I also like to lightly satay the chicken breast chunks with some seasoning beforehand so that it doesn't taste too bland in the pie. Those that have tried this pie really enjoy it. It's much better than the ones you get from restaurants! I do heavily recommend making your own crust. If you really don't have the time, get the Pillsbury one. I've made mini pies using homemade crust and Pillsbury crust and my fiance could tell the difference. He always prefer the homemade crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Pretty good base recipe. I used a frozen Pilsbury crust for the bottom, then whipped up a top crust made of 1/2 c. Bisquick, 1/4 stick of butter, and 1 tbsp. of water. I rolled that out on top of flour dusting with a flour-coated rolling pin then topped the pie with it. Really, you could use any veggies you want. I used what we had on hand: celery, a diced small potato (boiled about 10 minutes), cut carrots (boiled for a bit with the potatoes), garlic, and a cut zucchini. The only drawback I see is that the condensed soup makes it fairly salty...it would be nice to do the recipe where you made your filling completely from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is crazytown delicious. I made the following changes, all of which turned out great - 1) Baked the bottom layer of the crust in the preheated oven for 5-7 minutes before filling. I used a premade crust and it worked just fine. 2) Didn't precook the chicken. I just put it in the pie raw. This worked great and saved time/cleaning. It cooked just fine in the pie. 3) Used a Kraft mild/sharp/white cheddar shredded cheese mix. 4) Baked at 400, not 425. This turned out GREAT. It was a little salty, but that could easily be remedied by cutting down on the 1/2 tsp salt. I've been looking for a pot pie recipe that I could make "mine" for a long time. Looks like I've found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Overall a very tasty recipe! I made the following changes: 1) Used two carrots, cut into coins, and boiled until tender 2) Used frozen chopped broccoli 3) Used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of milk 4) Added basil and a chopped onion to the chicken while cooking 5) Added extra cheese 6) Baked the crust for 7 minutes before filling with mixture (pricked crust with fork first) 7) Baked at 375 intead of 425 for 40 mintues
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was WONDERFUL! Looks almost like you need more liquids but don't give in to the temptation, we loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I would have been happy eating just the filling! Cooked the chicken and then steamed the veggies in the same pan the chicken was cooked in. Little extra flavor, less to clean up, and best of all...it was quick! Nothing beats quick, cheap, and easy. Especially when it's good for you! Definitely something we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This pie was easy and delicious! I added asparagus and zuchinni to the mix of vegetables. And I added garlic, parsley, and pepper to make it extra flavorful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great! So easy too. I dumped in a can of corn, a can of carrots, a couple parboiled potatoes, a can of cream of celery, 1/2 a can of milk, some salt and pepper and garlic powder and poultry seasoning and a cooked, shredded chicken breast into a bowl and mixed it all up. I used store bought pie crust, put one on the bottom of a 9 inch pan, and then poured the filling in and put the top crust on and sealed the edges, and cut a couple steam holes out. Then I coverded it in foil and froze it. 2 days later, I baked it at 350 for an hour and a half ish, and it was ready. It was delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I loved this. Like a lot of people I made a few changes. I used cream of potato soup and I added up potatos. Next time I want to add mushrooms too. And instead of the pie pastry I used Pilsbury seamless crescent rolls. Oh also I added Itatlian seasoning. I thought this receipe was great because it was so easy and you could really cater it to your likings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I used 1/2 cup of milk b/c at first it was slightly too watery for my liking. Also added potatoes, some fresh pepper, and baked at 375 b/c my pie crusts were burning on the edges. Also, had to take out cheese b/c i'm lactose intolerant. I can't stop cooking this though. it's soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States