Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very delicious, But I did use 1 1/2 cups of broth as opposed to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe because you can make it as complicated or as simple as you want to. On nights where I am in a rush, I use frozen veggies and pick up an alreaady roasted chicken from the deli department at my grocery store. Otherwise, I use fresh veggies and blanch them, then bake my own chicken. I love to make individual portions of these and top it with a flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The other reviews were right -this recipe is time consuming, but totally worth it if you have the time and energy. I don't think frozen veggies would ruin it, but I wouldn't leave out the potato. I used salted water with smashed garlic cloves instead of broth, and for veggies used 1/2 a russet potato, 1/2 cup chopped carrots, 1/2 cup diced bell pepper, 1/2 cup chopped green beans (all blanched) then stirred in almost a cup of chopped mushrooms with the celery and onion. I even made the filling ahead of time and kept it in the fridge for a few hours until we were ready for a meal. Also used a premade double crust in a 10" pan, no problem fitting it all in there. The sauce was creamy, the pie was moist, and I was really happy with the result. Lots of fresh veggies kept it much lighter than store-bought pies. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This turned out amazing. I didn't have a pie crust so had to sub in Bisquick for the topping, and I used corn, carrots and potatoes instead of just frozen veggies, but that's just personal preference, and next time I make this I might not have carrots and potatoes so I'll use the mixed veggies and I'm sure it will be just as good as it was tonight. (Oh and if anyone is wondering, I used the 1 c. bisquick 1/2c. milk and 1 egg plus a little parsley for my topping...it was one the back of my giant box. Cooked at 400 for 30min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Blakely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DB44
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is the first time I've ever made a pot pie, and it was really easy. To me, a pot pie needs to have crust on the top and bottom and potatoes, so I added those in. I cooked the bottom crust first a little before I added everything in. I tweaked a couple other things for taste and time, like no onion for me, used more pepper, rotisserie chicken, store bought crust, but essentially kept it as is. Next time, I will make the time to use my own crust instead. I am eating it now, and I'm happy. I'll use this again. I'm going to play with this one to see what else I can do with it - other spices/herbs, making a veggie pie, maybe a broccoli cheese pie. Glad I chose this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I thought this was fantastic. Easy too. Eat it all because left overs aren't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made many versions of chicken pot pie. This by far was the best!!! My husband even made a point of telling me this was the best one I ever made. I increased the servings to 6 thank goodness, because there was not a drop left from the four of us. I had to make some adjustments so that it fit in the 2 quart cassorole dish. I too, used a bottom crust in addition to the top. I cooked it exactly as the directions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
WOW! I used the procedure and basic ingredients in this recipe but adapted it a bit using more fresh vegetables instead of the frozen ones, added diced parboiled potatoes and omitted the thyme. In our family of five it earned ten thumbs up and requests for me to PLEASE MAKE IT AGAIN SOON! The kids are begging for leftovers! I doubled the recipe and it made two 8x8 glass baking dishes and a rectangular glass dish that is smaller and not as deep as a traditional 9x13 pan. We have enough for a full dinner for my family and a separate 8x8 pan to give to my parents for their dinner. Sure to be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Was my first time making homemade potpie and this was a huge hit with my family! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Was good, but not as good as some of the others ive tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States