Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this in a pinch, not having any creamed soup for the chicken pot pie I normally make. This has replaced the old recipe I used. It isn't as easy as the one with the cream of chicken soup but the flavor greatly surpasses the "easy" one. (not that this is difficult at all, it just takes a few more minutes to prepare.) Very tasty, VERY creamy! My husband, who loves chicken pot pie said this was the best he had tasted. I agree. Thank you for your recipe. NOTE: I use two crusts: one on top, one on the bottom. It does increase the fat and calories but the taste is worth the extra time on the treadmill!!! You may have to add to the cooking time with two crusts. I just judge by the appearance of the top and the bottom is always done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
10+++Stars. Restaurant quality and better. First I baked two pie crusts(Pillsbury-ready crusts..much easier) in 9 inch pie plates. Then I made the filling. I used 1 can chicken broth w/roasted veg flavoring to cook chicken. I added more like 5 tbs of butter to cook the onion/celery-I used a heaping 1/3 cup flour and added the whole can of broth and like 3 cups of milk/heavy cream mixture. I wanted alot of sauce to make sure it was plenty of liquid. I used corn, peas, cooked cut up carrots and potatoes(microwave cooks potatoes in no time), and salt and pepper to taste. I then poured my pot pie filling in the pie plates and topped with bisquick mixture(makes a great thick top crust-1 cup bisquick, 1/2 milk and 1 egg mix and pour on top) then cooked for 30 minutes. OH MY!!! DELICIOUS. I think the flavored chicken broth added such wonderful flavors. I've found a keeper with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was one of the most delicious recipes for Chicken Pot Pie-worth the work. I served this to my mother in law and husband and they both loved it. It takes a little bit extra work, but it's well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Excellent - one of the best around. Instead of milk - I used whipping cream (made it much richer tasting). Also - DON'T USE FROZEN VEGS - pick up red potatoes, fresh carrots, and fresh green beans - but blanch them (the potatoes a little longer). VERY VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is what a real pot pie should taste like. I subbed cut up rotisserie chicken, puff pastry for the crust, and added diced par-cooked potatoes. I would disagree with reviewers who subbed/added creamed canned soups to the sauce. The sauce is what makes this pot pie authentic. Absolutely the best comfort dish we've had all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
FAB-U-LOUS!!!!! Very tasty. I followed some of the previous suggestions and used light cream instead of milk and added potatoes, salt & pepper. I skipped the herbs because I didn't want them to over-power the dish. I would not reccommend using any kind of canned soup as some reviewers suggested. If you follow the instruction, this sauce tastes authentic, restaurant quality. This recipe is a little bit of work to make during the week, so I prepared the filling the night before. Added the crust the next night and cooked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was my first real attempt at cooking a meal for my parents and brother (my mom is a great cook, so I never really bothered trying). I made a couple of changes (adding potatoes and carrots instead of frozen vegetables, adding a can of cream of chicken soup for extra chicken flavour and richness, and substituting some sage for some of the thyme). This stew invoked a feeding frenzy! It was so good that I am now responsible for making every Sunday dinner from now on! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Easy recipe, spouse loved it! I actually made them in single souffle ramekins (put these on a baking sheet for overflow) so each of my guests had their own pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINBH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meryl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
The pie turned out really well. To avoid having the filling turn out watery (as I've read some people remark) I used one can chicken broth (instead of 1 cup) with one can of condensed cream of chicken (instead of milk) to make the broth mixture. Add a splash of milk if the filling becomes too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Juan, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Tastes good but isn't the BEST I've had. My daughters wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole. (I think they're afraid of veggies!!) But my son inhaled it! LOL Took 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. Fine if you have the time but not fine if you come home late from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States