Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I added more flour than recipe called for and added poultry seasoning. Did not have alot of flavor. I made my own crust with butter and that was the best part of this dis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I really changed the recipe. I used all frozen mixed vegetables, I cut up one stalk celery, 1/3 c. frozen onions, satueed them in the butter, added 2 c. frozen vegetables and 1 c. frozen chunk hashbrowns. Cooked for about 5 minutes, then added the flour, cooked until it was a little thick. I added the chicken broth and milk to this, cooked until it became thick. Seasoned it with pepper and celery seed. I used the 9 inch pie crust, rolled it a little to fit a 10" pie pan, topped it with the other crust, (because other reviews said it made too much filling.) baked it for 45 min. at 350. It was delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
A good basic recipe, to which I made the following changes: skipped the celery (don't like it) and potatoes (didn't have any); I used boneless breasts that I had cooked earlier in the week; I used 2 crushed garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and sauteed them with the onion; I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to help thicken it up. I also put in a bottom crust. It was delicious and my family loved it tonight! I will make it again but with these same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My husband is allergic to dairy, so this recipe is great b/c most others use canned soup or condensed milk. It is delicious! Certainly doesn't need the dairy. Dairy eating friends have tried this while over for dinner, and asked me to make them one to take home. Really a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was quick and easy to make, and we liked it. I did a few things differently. I roasted the chicken rather than poaching it. I also added about 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning to the onion while it was sauteed. I probably used a generous 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper and lots of salt. When I found I had too much filling and not enough sauce added about 1/3 cup of heavy cream. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My son and I recently made this dish and the whole family loved it. The only thing we did different was to have a bottom crust as I did not see that in the recipe. From our house to you--12 thumbs up!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitewood, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Deering, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is really bland unless you add lots of salt and peper I also added some thyme. With that said I will make it again but I will double the liquid it was a little dry for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is a really good home-made pot pie. I would suggest using less onions and celery. I thought the flavor was a little overwhelming. I will use 1 stalk of celery next time and 1/2 the onion. But overall, this is easy to make and delicious. And much healthier than using cream of chicken soup like other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I thought this was bland and not worth the effort it took to prepare. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlow, County Carlow, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
My Junior Girl Scout troop made this and had a lot of fun. We used whole wheat crust and baked it for 45 minutes then froze it for a week and then finished cooking. It was beautiful and good tasting. There was way too much filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States