Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My partner said this was the best pot pie he's ever had! I used a homemade crust and messed with the ingredients a bit: Instead of the frozen veggies, I sauteed a cup of chopped carrots with the celery and onion then added a cup of canned beans. I also threw in the leftover broccoli casserole from Thanksgiving, which gave it a slightly cheesy flavor. Since I won't have that next time, I think I'll add a bit of cheese to the mix. This made enough filling for TWO pies, so make or buy some extra crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was SO good. I used mostly fresh vegetables instead of frozen (only frozen corn and peas) and put chopped red potatoes, carrots, cauliflower, celery, onion, etc in the casserole. Used a big corningware baking dish instead of a pie plate and covered it with the crust. Also, used about 1/2 can of cream of mushroom in the filling and used real garlic instead of powder. Incredibly good and NOT bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe, although I agree with the comments about reducing the amount of potatoes. I also eliminated the celery and instead added Italian Squash. I also used fresh garlic and included it in the mix, as well as the chicken seasoning. I added some rosemary (just a touch) and I like the added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
mmmm....easy to make and low fat...if you don't count the crust :) I would add more celery (just because I love the taste of celery) and maybe try individuals next time ;) great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfabry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yummy, yummy! I wanted to prepare some meals that freeze well (finals are coming soon!) and thought this looked like a winner. I almost never cook meat, but I thought this recipe was very easy. Only variations: I added a few good shakes of dried thyme, and I only used two lg. potatoes. I split the filling into two regular (not deep dish) pie plates and topped with a frozen whole wheat crusts. I divided the two pies into 8 portions, of which I froze six. This is tasty, healthy, budget-friendly comfort food. What else could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an excellent pie. Believe it or not I took one of those store-bought, already cooked chickens, ate the chicken with my roommate and then took the remains, added some herbs and water and boiled the chicken. I then drained the broth, reserved it, and picked the bones until all the meat was gone. I always use whatever fresh and frozen veggies I have on hand. If you want to fit the pie into a 9" crust you have to go a little lighter on the veggies. To reduce calories you can sub out more veggies for potatoes. A sweet potato might also work. I always use Canola instead of vegetable oil. And I cheat, I use store bought crusts instead of making my own. I have made my own and it's much better. Outstandingly good. Rib stickin' for big eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this option of not using a 'cream of' soup. I just season the water I cook the chicken in and use if for the broth. I also decided to serve this over pasta. Someone else said they served it over rice, so I thought I'd give this a try. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Absolutely the best Chicken Pot Pie I ever had so far. I was full and still ate another helping because I loved it so much! Didn't even need to serve with rice. I did add extra garlic powder, more flour with water, onion powder and powdered chicken bouillon to give it a little more flavor and gravy. I also used a bottom and top crust. Perfect and will make again and again. Thank you Chefbuzz. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Only used fresh veggies - no frozen. One potato used and only two chicky breast halves would have been enough. Even though I baked in individual dishes, the cooking time didn't need much adjustment. This is a great recipe - the only thing I wasn't wild about was all the pre-cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States