Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yummy, yummy! I wanted to prepare some meals that freeze well (finals are coming soon!) and thought this looked like a winner. I almost never cook meat, but I thought this recipe was very easy. Only variations: I added a few good shakes of dried thyme, and I only used two lg. potatoes. I split the filling into two regular (not deep dish) pie plates and topped with a frozen whole wheat crusts. I divided the two pies into 8 portions, of which I froze six. This is tasty, healthy, budget-friendly comfort food. What else could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an excellent pie. Believe it or not I took one of those store-bought, already cooked chickens, ate the chicken with my roommate and then took the remains, added some herbs and water and boiled the chicken. I then drained the broth, reserved it, and picked the bones until all the meat was gone. I always use whatever fresh and frozen veggies I have on hand. If you want to fit the pie into a 9" crust you have to go a little lighter on the veggies. To reduce calories you can sub out more veggies for potatoes. A sweet potato might also work. I always use Canola instead of vegetable oil. And I cheat, I use store bought crusts instead of making my own. I have made my own and it's much better. Outstandingly good. Rib stickin' for big eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this option of not using a 'cream of' soup. I just season the water I cook the chicken in and use if for the broth. I also decided to serve this over pasta. Someone else said they served it over rice, so I thought I'd give this a try. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Absolutely the best Chicken Pot Pie I ever had so far. I was full and still ate another helping because I loved it so much! Didn't even need to serve with rice. I did add extra garlic powder, more flour with water, onion powder and powdered chicken bouillon to give it a little more flavor and gravy. I also used a bottom and top crust. Perfect and will make again and again. Thank you Chefbuzz. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Only used fresh veggies - no frozen. One potato used and only two chicky breast halves would have been enough. Even though I baked in individual dishes, the cooking time didn't need much adjustment. This is a great recipe - the only thing I wasn't wild about was all the pre-cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great! My family loved it! I made two small pies instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this with a few minor changes, mainly different vegetables and less potatoes. I also used turkey leftovers instead of chicken and it worked great. It was a delicious pot pie but I prefer a little thicker and tastier filling so next time I will sub cream of chicken for the broth and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Muleski
Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very much enjoyed this pie. I had left-over turkey from our holiday meal so I substituted that for the chicken. I also cut the recipe in half, using only one potato. But this wound up being a little to dry so I added 1/2 c. more broth to 1/2 TBS. flour and added it to the turkey and vegetable mix. This recipe will be one of my repeats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very good pot pie recipe! I just made my own pie crust from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States