Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Made this delicious recipe last night with a few modifications. I used "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" from this site instead of pre-made crust, and used fresh mushrooms, carrots, brocolli, beans instead of their frozen counterparts. I also added granulated onion, some thyme, cheddar cheese, and used only one large potatoe (any more would be overkill). I didn't have any pie tins to accomodate this big pie, so used a 9x13 casserole instead and it turned out great. If you are looking for a good chicken pot pie recipe, you can trust that this one will exceed your expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I love that the filling has no "cream of" something soup. I usually had more chicken and veggies and make 2 pies for my family. And I use whatever veggies I have on hand at the time. It's a big hit here. I poach my chicken breasts in a pot of water with onion and celery and garlic and pepper corns and bay leaves...whatever sounds good at the time. Then I strain that liquid and use it as my chicken broth later, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is a great basic recipe if you want to make a pot pie without using heavy soups or creams. I changed it a fair amount (mostly b/c I didn't have all the ingredients)& it turned out great. I added 3 cloves of smashed garlic to the chicken water instead of garlic powder & I didn't have any frozen veggies or celery so I just used a combo of potatoes, baby carrots (which I added to the boiling potatoes) & onions. Also, instead of a pie crust I topped with biscuit dough. I only cooked it for approx 30 mins and it was perfect. Great recipe...both my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Yum! What a great recipe. Yes, it is time consuming, but totally worth it. I made a few changes to the reciple, and it turned out great. 1) I used boneless breasts because that's all I had. 2) I added more garlic salt, a half of a bay leaf, seasoning salt, and pepper to the boiling chicken. 3) I added 6 ounces more chicken broth than called for 4) While the chicken broth/veggie mixture was cooking, I added a few drops of cornstarch mixed with cold water to thicken it. Next time, I will buy an additional pie crust, because there is plenty of filling for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbphilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I really changed the recipe. I used all frozen mixed vegetables, I cut up one stalk celery, 1/3 c. frozen onions, satueed them in the butter, added 2 c. frozen vegetables and 1 c. frozen chunk hashbrowns. Cooked for about 5 minutes, then added the flour, cooked until it was a little thick. I added the chicken broth and milk to this, cooked until it became thick. Seasoned it with pepper and celery seed. I used the 9 inch pie crust, rolled it a little to fit a 10" pie pan, topped it with the other crust, (because other reviews said it made too much filling.) baked it for 45 min. at 350. It was delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This recipe was very good. I used 2 pastry shells and put one into the pie plate and used the other on top. I also added some various other vegetables and made sure to mix the chicken broth with cornstarch, for a little extra thickness. It was good served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This was my first pot pie venture. My husband loved it. Although, we both thought there were too many potatoes. Next time I will just use one large potato and more veggies. I used a store bought crust, one on top and one on bottom. Turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This recipe made a great Chicken Pot Pie. I was a little concerned because it did not seem to have much liguid in it - but it turned out great. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
A good basic recipe, to which I made the following changes: skipped the celery (don't like it) and potatoes (didn't have any); I used boneless breasts that I had cooked earlier in the week; I used 2 crushed garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and sauteed them with the onion; I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to help thicken it up. I also put in a bottom crust. It was delicious and my family loved it tonight! I will make it again but with these same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My husband is allergic to dairy, so this recipe is great b/c most others use canned soup or condensed milk. It is delicious! Certainly doesn't need the dairy. Dairy eating friends have tried this while over for dinner, and asked me to make them one to take home. Really a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States