Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
yummy! I liked the sauteed veggies & no creamed soup needed. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I used a whole left over chicken for this, simmering it for a nice broth and a homemade pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was absolutely the best recipe!! I also love how I didn't need a "cream of something" soup. I actually didn't have the 14.5 oz can of broth, only 10 oz. and used the actually broth from my chicken to make it the right consistency. Everything about the recipe was perfect. I especially enjoyed the taste and smell of cooking the fresh celery and onion. It added the right flavor to the whole thing! I loved that I could make it using whatever vegetables I had on hand and instead of pie crust I used pre-packaged biscuit dough for the top crust. Still turned out absolutely PERFECT! Will definitely do this again! Everyone loved it and it was actually comparable to my mother-in-laws (which everyone brags about):D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Dont bother with the can of broth. Use the water that you boiled your chicken in. Just add a bay leaf, pepper, oinion powder and whatever other spices you like in the water and boil it with the chicken. A 14.5 ounce can yeilds 1 cup of broth. So just use 1 cup of your homemade broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this for my wife's friend who is battling cancer. I wanted something that would be a comforting food. I didn't actually try this, but my wife said it got rave reviews when she cooked it and served it for dinner at their house. I personally would have added some additional spices, and some soup. I don't think it had the texture I was exactly looking to achieve, but as long as they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I am in the minority I guess - this did not have enough "sauce" and was bland. Unfortunately I made a lot extra and froze it. So when I make this again from my frozen stash, I'll add something else to it - maybe a half can of cream of chicken soup (which was what I was trying to avoid in the first place with this healthy recipe) and some additional pepper. UPDATE: I added a whole can of cream of chicken soup and additional pepper and this recipe was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit. I used boneless chicken breasts and 2 potatoes but kept to the recipe for the other ingredients. There was enough filling for two pies so I have one in the freezer. There wasn't very much liquid so I ended up thickening another can of chicken stock and pouring it over the filling before covering with the pie crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This was a great meal. I like the fact that you use only 1 pie crust top. I was out of carrots, so I added bok choy, red bell pepper, and corn to the other ingredients. I also added a bit of grated pepper jack cheese. It was yummy. I kept going back for more! My husband also liked it and want me to make it again. A good hearty, winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
pretty good, but needs some herbs to add extra flavor. ***also, why use canned chicken stock when you can use the water you boiled the chicken in? after removing the chicken, just boil the water down until you're left with 1.5 cups, and use that rather than canned stock for a more homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Excellent! Hubby and I both enjoyed your recipe very much. We added a little more potato and some fresh garlic and it was super. Great leftovers too, even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States