Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was SO good. I used mostly fresh vegetables instead of frozen (only frozen corn and peas) and put chopped red potatoes, carrots, cauliflower, celery, onion, etc in the casserole. Used a big corningware baking dish instead of a pie plate and covered it with the crust. Also, used about 1/2 can of cream of mushroom in the filling and used real garlic instead of powder. Incredibly good and NOT bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe, although I agree with the comments about reducing the amount of potatoes. I also eliminated the celery and instead added Italian Squash. I also used fresh garlic and included it in the mix, as well as the chicken seasoning. I added some rosemary (just a touch) and I like the added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
mmmm....easy to make and low fat...if you don't count the crust :) I would add more celery (just because I love the taste of celery) and maybe try individuals next time ;) great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfabry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yummy, yummy! I wanted to prepare some meals that freeze well (finals are coming soon!) and thought this looked like a winner. I almost never cook meat, but I thought this recipe was very easy. Only variations: I added a few good shakes of dried thyme, and I only used two lg. potatoes. I split the filling into two regular (not deep dish) pie plates and topped with a frozen whole wheat crusts. I divided the two pies into 8 portions, of which I froze six. This is tasty, healthy, budget-friendly comfort food. What else could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is an excellent pie. Believe it or not I took one of those store-bought, already cooked chickens, ate the chicken with my roommate and then took the remains, added some herbs and water and boiled the chicken. I then drained the broth, reserved it, and picked the bones until all the meat was gone. I always use whatever fresh and frozen veggies I have on hand. If you want to fit the pie into a 9" crust you have to go a little lighter on the veggies. To reduce calories you can sub out more veggies for potatoes. A sweet potato might also work. I always use Canola instead of vegetable oil. And I cheat, I use store bought crusts instead of making my own. I have made my own and it's much better. Outstandingly good. Rib stickin' for big eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfwenigma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love this option of not using a 'cream of' soup. I just season the water I cook the chicken in and use if for the broth. I also decided to serve this over pasta. Someone else said they served it over rice, so I thought I'd give this a try. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Absolutely the best Chicken Pot Pie I ever had so far. I was full and still ate another helping because I loved it so much! Didn't even need to serve with rice. I did add extra garlic powder, more flour with water, onion powder and powdered chicken bouillon to give it a little more flavor and gravy. I also used a bottom and top crust. Perfect and will make again and again. Thank you Chefbuzz. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Only used fresh veggies - no frozen. One potato used and only two chicky breast halves would have been enough. Even though I baked in individual dishes, the cooking time didn't need much adjustment. This is a great recipe - the only thing I wasn't wild about was all the pre-cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great! My family loved it! I made two small pies instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States