Chicken Pot Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful taste! Made a lovely Valentine's Dinner for my family, the kids loved it. Not too heavy tasting, fresh and full of flavor. I roasted a chicken a couple days a head of time and that's what I used rather than boiling. I wanted double the recipe but the only thing I didn't double was the potatoes. I substituted Vegetable oil with butter, and I like my veggies tender so I simmered longer about 10 minutes before adding the potatoes. I substituted the flour with corn starch and waited until after I added the chicken broth to add it. Take about a 1/2 cup of milk or use a 1/2 cup of chicken broth in a seperate measuring cup or bowl, take 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and beat it until blended. When broth is at a rolling boil just add the mixture while stirring until thickened. It's also important to taste test to make sure you added enough salt,pepper and garlic powder. I also used a bottom and a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zcat12f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was very good I used frozen mixed vegetables and made my own gravy with chicken broth. I do think next time I will use a biscuit crust though instead of pie crusr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was my first time making this dish and it is now a favorite in my house! My husband and 1 year old loved it as well. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good, except I used fresh peas and carrots instead of the frozen veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Nice version that I took a few liberties with. I'd give it a 5 star with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The recipe itself is good, the only problem is that it takes a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I have never really liked chicken pot pie, but after trying this recipe I learned it was possible to not only like it but love it. I love being able to add my own mix of vegetables and only use as much salt as I like. This tastes much better than the frozen pre-made chicken pot pie I grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AirekaT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gorham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Campton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This turned out very good. My husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by javadiva
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Made this last night left out potatoes was excellent I used the vegtables I had on hand peas w/pearl onions and mixed veggies, I really liked the pearl onions in this think next time will use mixed veggies and pearl onions! Used my pie crust, haven't made a savory pie in sooo long this was excellent. Had Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I added corn starch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States