Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
It was good, but very bland. After following feedback from other reviewers, I added 1/2 cup of milk, and used low fat soup - these made for a great consistency. I used corn and peas, but next time I'll try adding try mushrooms and carrots with it. I'll also add 1/2 tsp. of marjoram, 1/4 tsp. of salt, onion flakes, and a dash of parsley to spice it up. Very easy, and worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
464 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was great!! I tweeked the recipe a bit though. I used rotisserie chicken instead of the breasts for added flavor. I also used 2 cans of cr of chicken soup with 1 pkg frozen mixed veggies rather than canned. I added salt, pepper and ground thyme to taste and used 2 pkgs of rolled out Pilsbury cresent rolls instead of pie crust. It was excellent! I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I followed the recipe closely, and it was so easy and yummy! Both my husband and I loved it. Leftovers are also good. :-) Crust: I bought a package of two frozen deep dish pie crusts. I left one in the foil "pan" and took the other one out of its container (after letting it thaw a bit). I poured all the ingredients in the one I left in the pan, then I kind of flattened the other crust and tore it as needed to cover the top. I crimped and cut slits as suggested. EDIT: I've since made this recipe again, and I now use the Walmart brand or Pillsbury brand refrigerated dough that's by the canned biscuits and cinnamon rolls. Chicken: I used two boneless skinless chicken breasts. I used a skillet and boiled the chicken in water with 1 chicken bouillion cube, turning as needed to cook both sides. EDIT: I've also used leftover grilled chicken, which was equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Easy as pie!!! Everyone loved it!!! Followed a few suggestions though, used 2 cans of soup and 1/2 cup of milk, added spices: salt pepper, galic powder, onion powder, oregeno, and parsley. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Wow! This was delicious! It was so easy that I had to try it and knew it would be good, but I didn't expect it to be great. I did add one extra can of soup (I used 1 cream of chicken and 1 cream of celery). I also used frozen veggies - carrots, peas & corn - instead of canned (I just boiled them for a minute in the chicken stock leftover from cooking the chicken). I will definitely use this recipe over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made my own crust, used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom, and then used frozen veggies. I also added some salt, pepper, a little garlic powder, thyme, and some Lawry's seasoned salt. Really easy, and turned out great. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessJenna
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Wow...I've attempted chicken pie before and had terrible results but not this time. Delicious!! I made a ton of tweaks, so many that I'm not sure if what I made is really the same recipe anymore. I heated two cans of soup (cream of chicken and cream of chicken with herbs) thinned with some milk and stock and made an additional sauce with 1/3 cup butter, 1/3 cup flour (whisked together and cooked for 2 minutes), 1 and 3/4 cup chicken stock, 3/4 cup milk, salt, pepper, celery seed and fresh thyme. I wanted to be sure I had tons of gravy. Once I mixed all that together I reserved a third of it to top the pie and mashed potatoes with. I cook up a chopped onion, 3 ribs of celery and 3 shredded carrots in some butter. I then sliced up a roast chicken and boiled and chopped up 2 potatoes. I threw all that in along with a can of peas. Now I had enough for two pies. I put 1/2 the filling in the freezer for next time. Used 2 deep dish ready made crusts. One I poked holes in and flashed baked for 10 minutes at 350 and the other I used to top it all, giving it an egg wash and cutting some holes in the top. Cooked at 350 until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Followed exact directions but did add two cans of cream of chicken soup instead of one...DELICIOUS! This will be a regular dish in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just did not like this recipe. It would have been alright if I had used fresh vegetables. The problem was the canned veges, they made it taste awful. My husband thought it was ok but I couldn't eat mine. I doubt I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This recipe was not bad for a weeknight supper, however it was definetly nothing really special. I thought that it tasted like eating a can of soup with chicken and vegetables in it. I like lots of sauce in my chicken pot pie and I felt that 1 can of soup did not make enough sauce for the pie. I added an extra half can and I think next time I will add fat free sour cream instead of the extra soup and a few tablespoons of white wine. I think I will also try making it with puff pastry. I also added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp onion powder and some fresh ground pepper. I used the half fat soup and I feel this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States