Chicken Pot Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
It was good, but very bland. After following feedback from other reviewers, I added 1/2 cup of milk, and used low fat soup - these made for a great consistency. I used corn and peas, but next time I'll try adding try mushrooms and carrots with it. I'll also add 1/2 tsp. of marjoram, 1/4 tsp. of salt, onion flakes, and a dash of parsley to spice it up. Very easy, and worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
471 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was great!! I tweeked the recipe a bit though. I used rotisserie chicken instead of the breasts for added flavor. I also used 2 cans of cr of chicken soup with 1 pkg frozen mixed veggies rather than canned. I added salt, pepper and ground thyme to taste and used 2 pkgs of rolled out Pilsbury cresent rolls instead of pie crust. It was excellent! I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I followed the recipe closely, and it was so easy and yummy! Both my husband and I loved it. Leftovers are also good. :-) Crust: I bought a package of two frozen deep dish pie crusts. I left one in the foil "pan" and took the other one out of its container (after letting it thaw a bit). I poured all the ingredients in the one I left in the pan, then I kind of flattened the other crust and tore it as needed to cover the top. I crimped and cut slits as suggested. EDIT: I've since made this recipe again, and I now use the Walmart brand or Pillsbury brand refrigerated dough that's by the canned biscuits and cinnamon rolls. Chicken: I used two boneless skinless chicken breasts. I used a skillet and boiled the chicken in water with 1 chicken bouillion cube, turning as needed to cook both sides. EDIT: I've also used leftover grilled chicken, which was equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Easy as pie!!! Everyone loved it!!! Followed a few suggestions though, used 2 cans of soup and 1/2 cup of milk, added spices: salt pepper, galic powder, onion powder, oregeno, and parsley. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Wow! This was delicious! It was so easy that I had to try it and knew it would be good, but I didn't expect it to be great. I did add one extra can of soup (I used 1 cream of chicken and 1 cream of celery). I also used frozen veggies - carrots, peas & corn - instead of canned (I just boiled them for a minute in the chicken stock leftover from cooking the chicken). I will definitely use this recipe over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made my own crust, used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom, and then used frozen veggies. I also added some salt, pepper, a little garlic powder, thyme, and some Lawry's seasoned salt. Really easy, and turned out great. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYCEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessJenna
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Wow...I've attempted chicken pie before and had terrible results but not this time. Delicious!! I made a ton of tweaks, so many that I'm not sure if what I made is really the same recipe anymore. I heated two cans of soup (cream of chicken and cream of chicken with herbs) thinned with some milk and stock and made an additional sauce with 1/3 cup butter, 1/3 cup flour (whisked together and cooked for 2 minutes), 1 and 3/4 cup chicken stock, 3/4 cup milk, salt, pepper, celery seed and fresh thyme. I wanted to be sure I had tons of gravy. Once I mixed all that together I reserved a third of it to top the pie and mashed potatoes with. I cook up a chopped onion, 3 ribs of celery and 3 shredded carrots in some butter. I then sliced up a roast chicken and boiled and chopped up 2 potatoes. I threw all that in along with a can of peas. Now I had enough for two pies. I put 1/2 the filling in the freezer for next time. Used 2 deep dish ready made crusts. One I poked holes in and flashed baked for 10 minutes at 350 and the other I used to top it all, giving it an egg wash and cutting some holes in the top. Cooked at 350 until golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Followed exact directions but did add two cans of cream of chicken soup instead of one...DELICIOUS! This will be a regular dish in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I just did not like this recipe. It would have been alright if I had used fresh vegetables. The problem was the canned veges, they made it taste awful. My husband thought it was ok but I couldn't eat mine. I doubt I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This recipe was not bad for a weeknight supper, however it was definetly nothing really special. I thought that it tasted like eating a can of soup with chicken and vegetables in it. I like lots of sauce in my chicken pot pie and I felt that 1 can of soup did not make enough sauce for the pie. I added an extra half can and I think next time I will add fat free sour cream instead of the extra soup and a few tablespoons of white wine. I think I will also try making it with puff pastry. I also added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp onion powder and some fresh ground pepper. I used the half fat soup and I feel this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States