Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Fantastic and easy! Per other reviews I didn't add the juices from the capers or artichokes. I did add a bit of lemon zest since it adds such a bright flavor. Only simmered for about 10 minutes after cooking and I just realized I forgot to add the butter at the end. Even without it the dish was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
As usual I use this site to find recipes that I have the ingredients for. Then I tweak it based on the reviews I read. So I pounded my Chicken thighs flatter, dredged in cornstarch seasoned w lemon pepper. Then I sautéed them brown. Added a medium chopped onion, and when that was translucent added one c white wine and 1 cups chicken broth cooked until sauce began to thicken. Added the majority of a 33 oz jar of water packed artichoke hearts cut in quarters. One can of mushrooms drained (also I added a cup of chicken spinach and mushroom sauté I had leftover from the other night in the fridge). Three tablespoons of drained capers (we love them!), a 2 Tbl package of cream cheese to creamy up the sauce and the juice of one freshly squeezed lemon. Served over rice (we are low carb/gluten). And it was super. We appreciate the sour nature of the sauce. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was excellent! My husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I didn't put in the capers, because I wasn't sure I'd like them. I found out my husband does, so next time, I'll put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I'm the original poster of this recipe (I haven't been able to log in using the original profile), but wanted to add a couple thing I've done to make this even better. I cut the chicken thinly rather than pounding, then salt and pepper it on both sides and lay flat on a plate. Sprinkle on crushed garlic and zest and juice of one lemon. I let it sit for 10-15 minutes, then flour (I haven't been adding the Italian seasoning) and then continue as written.The marinade adds a whole additional depth of flavor. I've also found that different brands of artichoke hearts and capers taste differently in this dish, so you may have to experiment with amounts. I add flour slurry at the end to thicken. Thanks for your reviews and for sharing your tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Excellent, but watch how much capers you put in, it can quickly overcome the dish. I added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Definitely a winner. Made as written except didn't.t add caper juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just finished this recipe. We really enjoyed it. Next time I would reduce the amount of chicken broth by 1/2. I also would reduce the amount of flour used to 1/2 cup of flour. It is a definite make again dish. Fresh parsley added at the end added flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Used tights instead, added more garlic and capers (just because we like them a lot) this was wonderful. -)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I loved this dish! I eliminated the liquids from both the artichokes and capers and omitted the wine because I didn't have any. Super impressive and crazy good. Note: focus on getting the chicken brown and not limiting yourself to two minutes. Mine took longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States