Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent dish! This was a very easy Piccata with an intense and complex flavor. I didn't need the full amount of flour, seemed way too much. I also used shallots instead of onion, and used the nasty reconstituted lemon juice in lieu of fresh due to it being all I had, and this still turned out wonderful. Next time I make it, I'll try adding mushrooms and FRESH lemon juice, and if I'm feeling extra decadent I'll add a splash of cream at the end. It'll be out of this world! Thanks for this, we will enjoy it time after time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Unbelievably delicious!!! I followed the recipe except I didn't pound the chicken breasts which allowed for the extra 20 minutes cooking at the end. The extra cooking is important as the lemony garlic deliciousness infuses itself into the chicken -- oh so good! I can't wait for lunch tomorrow! I did also add SOME of the artichoke liquid and SOME of the caper liquid -- you need those flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLITTRZMINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This turned out to be quite delicious but there are a number of things I didn’t follow in the recipe to make it so. I didn’t measure or follow the cooking times or technique exactly. I didn’t add garlic powder or Italian seasoning. Garlic, salt and pepper were enough. I didn’t EVEN cook the chicken an additional 20 minutes after already browning it a couple of minutes per side. (Now that would have been some tough, dry chicken!) And I certainly didn’t include the brine from the capers or the “reserved artichoke liquid” (which I obviously didn’t reserve in the first place). The broth, a splash of white wine and a good squeeze of fresh lemon was all this needed. Once the sauce has been reduced, just a few minutes, lower the heat and swirl in a little butter for a smooth, velvety sauce. Garnish with fresh minced parsley and thinly sliced lemon. I served this with pasta with garlic and oil, and Swiss chard. My kind of meal - Hubs’ too! Following the recipe using the indicated caper brine, artichoke liquid and cooking the chicken an additional 20 minutes, I’d call this a generous 3 star recipe. However, given that this is such 5-star quality ignoring those instructions I’ll call it at 4-stars rather than risk scaring others away from this excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious - I used shallots instead of onion and frozen artichokes because that is what I had. My sauce did not benefit from the artichoke liquid, therefore, but was good all the same. I also did not add the butter at the end and found the sauce plenty rich without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was great. All the family liked it. Husband would like to try it over tortellini next time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very good and very easy. I will spice it up a little more next time. Thanks! The entire family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This dish was so tasty that there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I did not care for this, not much flavor. It wasn't bad, just blah.I made this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!! I took others advice and didn't add the liquid from the capers or the artichokes. Can't wait to make again!!!! PS-Also didn't add the butter at all and added more wine and lemon-if you have the time to let it reduce, you don't need the butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious! A keeper! As is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States