Chicken Piccata I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I'm giving this recipe only four stars as written, after working with the recipe I made the following changes and believe it's a five star: don't batter the chicken, just flour (added salt, pepper, and paprika to flour), use real butter and olive oil to saute chicken, double or triple the sauce using good white wine, and add several tablespoons of capers to finish. I served with parmesean/parsley mashed potatos on a large platter with lemon slices, beautiful presentation. This dish is definitely for lemon lovers, and the flavors are mild and mellow, so you can finish the meal off with a big bang of a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
We really love this recipe. I always triple the white wine and lemon juice for the sauce in the end, but let it cook down until it is not so runny. I also put two cloves of crushed garlic in with the oil and butter, and let that saute before adding the chicken. And definetly use olive oil! Awesome taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
OMG This was sooooo good - finally i was able to fry and have the breading stay on - i pounded the chicken real thin, dipped it in the flour, than the egg, than the bread crumbs and fried it in butter and olive oil, and the crust stayed on !!!!! i was so excited!!!! i made the sauce with chicken broth because i didnt have wine and added capers too. Served it over angel hair pasta, and had fresh broccoli and green salad on the side. Hubby and his friend inhaled it, and the kids loved it too!!! definitely a keeper, will be making this again -- thanks so much for posting this recipe -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe is great! When I haeted the butter in the skillet I added 2 pressed cloves of garlic to it. And I also added about a 1/2 cup of heavy cream to the lemon juice and wine, then reduced down with the drippings in the skillet. What's piccata w/out fresh garlic? So much better this way, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this dish for dinner last night and scaled the recipe to 2 servings. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled the amount of sauce (good thing too!). I also followed the advice of another reviewer and added two cloves of minced garlic to the pan when cooking the chicken. I don't know what I was thinking...but don't do this! The garlic cooks too long and as a result, turns bitter. If you want to add garlic, do so after removing the chicken; saute it a little before adding the sauce ingredients to the pan. Another point to mention is that I don't feel there is enough bread crumb mixture to coat the chicken breasts...much more is needed to get a good coating on the breasts. Anyhow, in the end, this dish was "ok", but we probably won't be making it again, in our opinion, it didn't have any wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Agree with other comments regarding using olive oil, more lemon & white wine. We also made this using pork tenderloin instead of chicken. Cut the tenderloin into 1" pieces and pound them until they're as thin as veal scallopine. Continue as if using chicken, only the thin pork will only take about 2 minutes per side to brown & cook. Then continue with the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
We found the sauce to be very tart and added some chicken broth to smooth it out. This also made more sauce to drizzle over the chicken and the rice we serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I made this for my husband and he claimed that this is the best chicken piccata he's ever had! I think it's delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I've used this recipe several times; I always add capers - I recently made this recipe for my parents and they loved it! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I'd never had chicken piccata before, let alone made it! This was a FABULOUS dish! I made it for a friend who thought the sauce was a little too strong, so I calmed it down with some chicken broth. I like to make my sauce with some freshly sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States