Chicken Pesto Paninis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I just posted a request for new ideas on picnic take-along food and a wonderful all-reciper sent this to me! I have already tried this and it is GREAT! Thanks for the reminder about a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j-la

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These were wonderful! I can't wait to make these again. We did not have Foccacia, so we used Cobs bread Pane di Casa ( a hard, chewy crust with dense texture. I used Epicure's pesto mix. Other changes were minor, like a bit of mayo and not dicing the onions and peppers, but thinly slicing them. My 3 and 5 yr old also loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were fantastic! I made them with a yellow onion instead of red, and I sauteed the pepper and onion in a little olive oil to soften them up. I used some foccacia from the store and slices of provolone instead of shredded cheese. A great recipe to break in our new panini grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
My husband loves pesto, so I'm constantly trying to find different ways to use it. I love the idea of using it for a sandwich. I marinated my chicken in balsamic vinegar before grilling it and then slicing it thin. I preferred my sandwich with roasted red peppers and caramelized onions on it. Hubby liked his with just chicken, pesto and some provolone. I'll make these again, and I liked the idea of also using deli sandwich meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is awesome! I left the cheese out and added tomato slices to make it a little healthier and it is definitely a new quick favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I LOVE this panini -- and fellow reviewer "Shiloh" and I think a lot alike when it comes to making a healthier version (see March '08). ;o) I use whole wheat sourdough bread, and, like Shiloh, I use the Classico brand pesto. I also use sliced turkey, sliced part skim mozzarella, and thinly sliced (red) pepper and onion. (I don't own a panini grill and the sandwich is easier to flip when the ingredients are sliced.) I brush the outside of my panini very lightly with extra virgin olive oil before grilling. Sometimes I leave the turkey off of mine and add sliced tomatoes to make a great veggie panini. Hubby likes his meat though, so I always put turkey on his! We had these for dinner tonight with Muir Glen Organic Tomato Soup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made my modifications based on the other reviews. I used one small focciaca bread and one ciabatta, putting a small amount of pesto on one side and cream cheese on the other. I didn't have time to roast my red bell, but sauteed with red onion. Because I ran short on time from the day of grocery shopping, I took advantage of canned chicken. Was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Yummy! I used leftover chicken I roasted a couple days earlier and also added some mayo. I didn't use peppers as I don't like them. For the bread I flattened pizza dough from my grocers bakery, rubbed it with olive oil and sprinked some seasonings on it. Baked it for about 30 mins and had fresh baked bread for the paninis. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We bought a panni grill / griddle last night so this was the first panini sandwich we made. And wow, we were quite pleased. I used a sturdy country white bread that I cut into thick slices. Then I followed the rest of the recipe exactly as written. Hubby put a hot mango chutney on his 2nd sandwich to give it some 'oomph. I love that you won't need butter or oil on the bread with the panini grill. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
One word..........WOW!! These paninis were delicious!!! The only thing I added to mine was a little mayo, which I think was great!! Will definitely make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States