Chicken Pesto a la Lisa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My husband thought this was great; the rest of us thought only "good". The chicken broth seemed to overpower the dish and I couldn't taste the feta . I liked the ease of preparation and cooking method though. I did leave out the pine nuts to spare both the expense and the time to toast them. I think I would try adding next time. I might replace some of the chicken broth with white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very good recipe.When it was time to eat, I did mix all the sauce in with my pasta and served with a vegetable salad on the side. Plus, I added half the feta cheese into the sauce near the end to melt it a little and then sprinkled the other half when serving the dish.N.B: Some Fetas are saltier then others so if you want this recipe less salty use less feta or buy a feta that has low sodium in the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
What a delicious recipe. After reading some reviews, I didn't change a thing, except I put the chicken mixture over penne pasta. I made homemade pesto several weeks ago, and also had toasted pine nuts left over from that, ready to use. My husband raved about the meal - a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
The taste of this recipe was excellent. I reconstituted the sun-dried tomatoes and then chopped them, this was much easier. I did forget the fresh basil but again, the taste was wonderful. I can't rate this 5 stars because with the amazing ingredients, this was an absolutely ugly meal! I mean, this looked like stew and not a good one. The color of the sauce ended up being really dark and weird. So the flavors were perfect but I always eat with my eyes first and I was worried. Good meal for home, not so good for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is one of our favorite recipes on this site although it's one of the more expensive to make with the pesto (if you don't make your own) and the pinenuts. I follow it to a "T" except that I also use some white wine with the chicken broth. I've doubled it and had leftovers cold and it's great that way as well! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srose2329

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Oh .... this is my recipe. Well I should review it then. One of our all-time favorites! It's especially cool when my family members now make it for other family members and they tell me how much they love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Everyone in the family loved this recipe. I browned chicken strips first and then removed the chicken and added 1 onion and the garlic to the pan to fry up. I then added the chicken and remaining ingredients together and simmered for 30 minutes. the chicken was very moist. I added the cheese and pine nuts just before serving. It's a keeper according my young adult family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This makes so much. I suggest cutting it in half. The flavor was pretty good, but could have used a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whafen
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made this tonight for my hubby for his birthday. Wow! This website has definitely changed my cooking, and this recipe exemplifies what great tasting recipes can be found on here. Made this pretty much exactly as listed. Added a few more cloves of garlic though, cus you can always use more garlic! Next time I might toast more pine nuts though - they added such a delicious nutty flavor to this, it was definitely a great touch. The feta I had on hand was sun dried tomato feta, and I was worried the flavor would be too much because I already had chopped sun dried tomatoes in there, but can't say it hurt it any! Also had to add a teeny bit more cornstarch because sauce was still a bit too thin. Served it over whole wheat fusilli. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whafen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I found it to be too salty. I used low sodium chicken broth but it still tasted a bit "off". My husband liked it more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States