Chicken Perkelt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
I loved the results that I got - but I did substantial tinkering! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and instead of mushroom-juice and chicken boullion cubes, I used two cups of strong, homemade chicken stock, and thickened it just a touch. I also used sharp paprika instead of mild, and increased it to about three tablespoons. I used eight boneless chicken thighs. Plenty of gravy for mixing with the rice. Rave reviews. I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I was raised on this chicken recipee, although slightly different...try adding a sweet juicy tomato and some chunks of green pepper for even more flavour, omit the sour cream and cook till sauce is reduced and thickened...and only use Hungarian paprika, makes a world of difference. This dish can also be made with stewing beef or pork. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
With the changes I made, it will definitely be repeated over and over. I seasoned the chicken thighs (all I had) with garlic powder, adobo and pepper. I also added about 1/2 cup of white wine and used fresh mushrooms. Other than these changes I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was good served over spaetzle. I used half hot and sweet paprika and added some white cooking wine. I think it could have used a little more spicing up, I had to keep it mild for my 18 month old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Very good variation on chicken stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This turned out pretty good, but I too made changes. I didn't have any paprika so I substituted cumin and coriander. (We love Mexican). I also added about a cup of water along with the mushroom liquid to make more gravy. Still I wished I had used more water. Still wasn't enough gravy. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Great recipe, great taste. I used fresh mushrooms and added about 1/4 cup of water as the liquid. Instead of spooning over rice in individual servings, I just mixed the entire dish with a cup of cooked white rice in a big bowl. It was delicious...fed three grown men...they just kept eating and eating....we all really enjoyed this one. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I found the chicken to be a bit dry.I will try it again and modify the recipe this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Great easy recipe! I'm always looking for new and simple chicken dinners, and this did the trick, at least for my husband. He enjoyed it, although my two-year-old daughter was not a fan of the mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States