Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Loved it! I only made a few modifications. First, I didn't put salt on the chicken -- just the onion powder. Second, I cut the amount of soy sauce in half. Third, I used only 1 1/2 cups of water instead of 2 1/2. And lastly, I used a yellow bell pepper instead of green. I'll definitely be making this again. This would work really well with pork chops, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I really liked this it was fresh and very good. I like pepper steak and this low fat recipie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very good. To reduce saltiness, add a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
It was very very good. Next time I might add just a little less soy and water/cornstarch, gravy didn't thicken up enough for me. Husband wants me to add other veggies to it. I also added water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMLBELENZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
We made this for dinner and it was excellent. I added 2 cups of water and 4 TBLS of Cornstarch and the gravy was thick and excellent. I also did not find this salty in the least. I did add an extra yellow bell pepper. Kids asked me to make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Mmmmmm. Came out perfect!! I will definitely make this again. Now my bf can stop telling me to make gravy when I cook. This is it. He's going to love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
pretty good i must say! I had some peppers onions and tomatoes that I needed to use up before going out of town so this worked for me. After serving tonight I took the leftover chicken and cut into chunks to make it more user friendly. Also did not use the soy sauce but used Bragg Amino Acids in place of. Just squirted some on each piece of chicken when cooking. Also used chopped fresh garlic and bouquet garne' spice as I did not have the other stuff. Added lots of extra tomatoes and cut back to 1 1/2 liquid. I would say the more tomatoes you use (I used regular ones) the less liquid required. Cut the cornstarch to 4 teaspoons (same as 1 T and 1 t) Great taste and served over brown rice. Rather healthy recipe also...... Cant wait for the leftovers tomorrow night! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Delicious; I served it over egg noodles. It was, however, a little too salty for my tastes (and I'm a salt lover to begin with), so I think I will use slightly less seasoning and about half the amount of soy sauce next time. Also, I recommend using just one cup of water to have thicker gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Everyone liked this recipe. I only used 1 1/2 cups of water and that was plenty. Also added 1 tsp. of hot pepper flakes. Used only 1/2 teas. seasoning salt. Also cut chicken into cubes and sprinkled with spices before cooking. Once everything was added to the pan I cooked it for 15 min. or so to soften the tomato skins and peppers. Served it with mash potatoes. Would also be good with rice or pasta. Thanks, Michele, Cambridge ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States