Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have skimmed over the page for this recipe several times (I have the "favorites" book), and thought about making it each time, so I finally decided to give it a try (my friend also recommended the recipe). This dish was VERY salty (too salty for my liking). This could have been my fault since I did not pre-measure the seasoned salt & onion powder (I just seasoned to taste). I think you could use canned diced tomatoes in lieu of fresh to cut time (and save $'s), and I will do this next time (if I make this dish again). My bf said that this was more "savory" than his mom's version (which I guess is sweeter - the way I always thought pepper steak should be) and he likes mine better! The sauce is not as thick as I had expected, but my bf also said that pepper steak isn't supposed to be thick (who knew?). Anyways, this was a good dish that paired nicely served over steamed white rice (no sides needed). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
The only thing I omitted from this recipe was the cornstarch as I did not have any, so I did not really acheive a 'gravy' texture. It was really just too salty for my taste. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I've been making recipes from this site for just the past month but this one, BY FAR, is the biggest hit. We could have this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
After reading the reviews we used 1/2 cup of green pepper and 1/2 cup of red pepper. Scaled back on the soy sauce used lite soy sauce. Replaced water with chicken broth and added about 1/3 cup of white wine. We did add some cornstarch with water to make sauce thicker. Turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This was great with a few tweeks. Did not salt the chicken, soy sauce always provides enough for us. Used chicken boullion instead of water for some extra flavor. Added 2 more cloves fresh garlic and about a teaspoon of fresh ginger. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Me and my husband both loved this recipe. It is great over rice. I used chicken broth rather than water for more taste. This one goes in my recipe book- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Absolutely Wonderful! Would use a little less or low sodium sory sauce next time. Husband thought it was a little too strong, However I LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
My boyfriend said this was "a winner!" so that's saying something! The only changes I made were: I cut the chicken in bite size pieces, I added an extra TBSP of cornstarch. We ate this over white (calrose) rice but it'd be good over pasta, too. Thanks for a great recipe, this will go into my recipe box as a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I used 1 small green pepper, 2 small reds, 4 cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp fresh ground pepper, olive oil instead of veg, and 4 tbsp cornstarch instead of 2. The flavour was amazing. I have never had pepper steak, so I can't compare, but this was really yummy. Even with the extra cornstarch, the sauce never thickened and ended up more like a soup. Next time I'll add the cornstarch mixture first, let it simmer for 5-10 mins, Then add the peppers, etc so they are still a little crunchy. Can't wait to make this again though, thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This recipe is delicious and easy to throw together! I use about half the slurry mixture (cornstarch + water) but sometimes I have to add more water to make the sauce thicken [it sounds backwards, but it works]. This is easily adaptable for other veggie/meat combinations. I like to add a lot of black pepper and a little cyanne to this dish to imitate the black pepper chicken at my favorite chinese resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States