Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My husband LOVED this. Said it is one of his favorites so far. He's a beef eater so I will probably use beef next time but I think it would be great with either. I followed other reviewers comments and only used 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth instead of the water. I also added red pepper flakes. I was scared of the salt even though I love salt and used low salt soy sauce and just seasoned the chicken with onion powder and black pepper. I too used a can of diced tomatoes. We ate it over rice. This makes 4 large servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Solid recipe - easy to make, enjoyable taste, lots of sauce for rice or noodles. Next time I'm going to spice it more heavily, it was a tad bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Healthy meals that taste good are hard to come by. I'll be making this one often. I cut the chicken into bite size pieces, used low fat chicken broth instead of water, increased the cornstarch to 3 Tbsp., and used 2 large green and 1 large red pepper. I also used lower sodium soy sauce and simmered the mixture quite a while longer than the recipe indicated. I thought the consistency was just right. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I doubled the veggies, added a bit of sesame oil, and cut the onion power. Also take 1/2 the corstarch and mix in with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
This was really good and really easy. Took about 20 minutes including prep and cleanup and was very satisfying. I had it with a baked potato topped with greek yogurt, which made a very easy and very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This yielded quite a bit of food for only 4 servings and it's very tasty! I had to cook it down quite a bit to have the gravy thicken and I served it over rice. I will definetly keep this and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Pretty good. My fiance liked it a lot. I took the advice of another reviewer and used beef broth instead of water. What confused me was the measurement of half of a cup of soy sauce when in the recipe, all it calls for is eight tablespoons, four in the beginning and four in finishing. When - and if - I make this again, I'll add more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I have a recipe very similar to this that I got from a cookbook years ago. There a few differences in the vegetables, but the recipe uses as much sugar as the soy sauce and it is great! For those who didn't like it or thought it was too salty, try adding the sugar. It's a great recipe! One of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Sorry, but my family didn't like this. We ate it because we were hungry, but the leftovers went into the trash, and we NEVER do that! (Hey we're piggies and eat just about anything!)I'm not exactly sure what's missing from this recipe, but it was very bland. Maybe it's because this time of year "good" produce isn't available because it's out of season...who knows. I did use low salt soy sauce, and eliminated the seasoned salt. We added salt at the table. Again, I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have skimmed over the page for this recipe several times (I have the "favorites" book), and thought about making it each time, so I finally decided to give it a try (my friend also recommended the recipe). This dish was VERY salty (too salty for my liking). This could have been my fault since I did not pre-measure the seasoned salt & onion powder (I just seasoned to taste). I think you could use canned diced tomatoes in lieu of fresh to cut time (and save $'s), and I will do this next time (if I make this dish again). My bf said that this was more "savory" than his mom's version (which I guess is sweeter - the way I always thought pepper steak should be) and he likes mine better! The sauce is not as thick as I had expected, but my bf also said that pepper steak isn't supposed to be thick (who knew?). Anyways, this was a good dish that paired nicely served over steamed white rice (no sides needed). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States