Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I would have given this 4 or 5 stars but we all found it WAY TOO SALTY. I even cut the seasoning salt back to 1/2 tsp. and used low-sodium soy sauce. I would recommend just a light sprinkling of each chicken breast with the seasoning salt. Also, the "gravy" never got very thick so next time I would cut back on some of the water, by at least a 1/2 cup. Otherwise, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Overall this didn't turn out well. The chicken was tender and the flavor was good; it was a nice-looking presentation. However, the gravy just didn't work out. The liquid never turned into gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This recipe was good, but way to salty. I am not used to using much salt in my cooking and almost keeled over when I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
A good alternative to beef. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Simple and DELICIOUS! I cut the water to 1 cup, added an additional yellow bell pepper, sprinkled with red pepper flakes and VOILA...a quick meal that everyone enjoyed. Will make again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was a pretty good recipe!! To kick it up a little I added black pepper and crushed red pepper. I also threw in a pinch of ginger and a lot of sesame seeds. Served it over egg noodles and it was great! Next time I'll try adding a little more flavor. There was this time but it was missing SOMETHING...just couldn't figure out what it was! Great recipe though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I cook alot for my family so it's hard to find something new and different, but this was GREAT! My dad wen't back for 3rds. I just added a little bit of red pepper to give it a little kick and it was awesome. Thanks for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I thought this was wonderful!!! I've never made pepper steak, much less chicken pepper steak, but it was fantastic. I took the suggestion of others and only used 1 cup of water, and it made plenty of gravy (which tasted great on my garlic mashed potatoes). I also simmered it for about 30 minutes, which made the chicken very tender. This will definitely be a keeper in my kitchen. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
Great twist on the pepper steak recipe. The whole family loved it and now I will be making it a family regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
I used no salt on the chicken and only used 4 t. of soy for the finish . Made more gravy than necessary. It is a quick simple recipe that allows for many variables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States