Chicken Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was very good! The whole family (all six kiddos) loved it! I was thinking of leaving out the tomato because it sounded weird to me but I was glad I included it. The only substitution I made was chicken broth for the water. Thanks for giving us another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe except used more peppers. Served with brown rice and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
O M G! This recipe was AWESOME!!! I loved it so much I ate it for lunch and dinner the next day too! I made a few modifications because of the other reviews complaining of the saltiness. To cut the saltiness I added some rice vinegar and some chili paste, and a little bit of splenda. I also (believe it or not) added some kerrygold sweet mustard sauce. It was so good! I also used red onions and used red and yellow bell peppers. This was amazing!! Thanks for the great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandieh24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I liked the flavor but I felt like step 2 with the water & extra soy sauce was too much. I will cut that next time. Ended up very salty! Still very good just needs some tweaking for my personnel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Meh, about sums it up. I thought it was too bland. It was much thinner than I would have liked and I wish I had increased the corn starch by a TBS. I was wanting a pepper steak but with chicken and this tasted little like pepper steak to me. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyFlyBoys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
The first time I tried this recipe I was disappointed & really felt like it lacked something. But I held off on my review, wanting to give it a second chance. So on my second attempt I cooked thinly sliced chicken in my wok. In addition to the regular ingredients, I added some cracked peppercorns to the chicken. Then in step#2, add 2T oyster sauce, blend the cornstarch with 1/4 C water, add 1.5 C chicken broth & I added some broccoli, & mushrooms, along with the other veggies & roma tomatoes. The recipe had more flavor & the sauce was very good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this one. But not because it's a bad recipe, because it's not. That's why I'm giving it 4 stars. But I was disappointed because I expected it to taste like pepper steak, only with chicken. It doesn't. It tastes more like an asian chicken recipe, but not like pepper steak. So it wasn't bad, it was just not what I wanted and expected. And I agree with another reviewer that it seemed to be missing something. After tasting it, I added honey and brown sugar to mine, and it still seemed to be lacking. I served mine with House Fried Rice from this site. Again, not a bad recipe, but just not quite what I expected based on the title and the other reviews. Unlike other reviewers, I did not find this one to be too salty. I did, however, find the soy sauce to be a bit overpowering, almost to the point of being bitter. Hmmm. Again, not a bad recipe, just not what I was hoping for. To me, it was a 3 star recipe, but objectively speaking, it's closer to a 4 star recipe. Not bad, but I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I added a lot more soy sauce and then a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. There was a lot of flavor so I am not sure how it would've been with out the added soy sauce and red pepper. This recipe is replacing my mother's regular peppersteak recipe that I have been making for years. My husband and son much prefer this one, and it's healthier for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really good. The only thing I did different was cut up the chicken into bite size pieces. Served it over yellow rice. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Use less salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States