Chicken Penne Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
YUM! Though I can never help but to add my own flare, this dish is awesome. My husband ate it all, and wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was a hit. A classic that you can make while chatting it up in the kitchen. Some quartered baby poratabellas where added with the diced tomatoes. The family is already asking for this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eyes of disarray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Haven, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
obviously i'm in the minority as well, but i thought this was a really strange dish. it took more cornstarch than called for to get the sauce to thicken,- and the resulting clear-ish yet thick sauce was thoroughly unappetizing looking. the taste was okay (hence the three stars) and i like the concept of an italian stir-fry- but i won't be making this again without using a different sauce entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Geez. Am I ever having a clunker of a day in the kitchen. Breakfast was a flop and dinner was too. I guess I'm just making poor recipe choices today.... While the taste of this was allright (nothing special, but edible), it was the texture that snubbed me. The broth / wine mixture, when combined with a thickener and then added to warm ingredients, made for a wierd "gooey" sauce. I have no aversion to creamy sauces, but broth / wine are an odd pairing for a pasta sauce. Perhaps I had my burner set too high???? Also, as this recipe implies, I was expecting an Italian stir-fry meal. I should have known better.... Sauteeing veggies for 5 minutes and then simmering for another 10 minutes will undoubtedly turn them to mush (especially onions). I think this would have been MUCH better if my veggies were crisp-tender (like a traditional stir-fry should be). Served with Italian bread, this was an "OK" meal. My hubby liked this a bit more than I did, so I guess it wasn't a complete loss lol! Anywhoo, I hope this will float your boat cause it sure didn't mine :( Thanks anyways, JBLUVS2COOK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
WOW!!!! This was amazing I didn't have red or green peppers on hand so I went without and everyone thought that it was great without and I'm sure it would be great with them as well :) This was AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this several times now and the family loves it!! I use whatever veggies and cheese I have on hand and pretty much stick to the recipe otherwise. This has to be one of the EASIEST and BEST recipes out there!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
As some other said, too bland, especially to be called italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This turned out soooo good for me! I made some changes though. I used half of a green & yellow pepper and then added two red chili peppers (sliced). The color combination this created was really nice and the chili peppers added a bit of zip to this dish without being too spicy once cooked. I also added salsa instead of canned tomatoes, which really gave the sauce nice color. I didn't have oregano and basil separately so I added two teaspoons of italian seasoning. The consistency of the sauce was so perfect. It coated the penne so nicely and the flavor was really good! My husband who isn't a big eater went back for seconds! I think this was company worthy and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
with jus a little more white wine (love the taste of white wine in my food) and a little bit of crushed red pepper flakes it wus fork lickin' good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was very good for a romantic meal. I let this simmer in the wine sauce for a bit longer than the recipe called for. This gave more of a marinated taste. All-in-all this recipe was better than the chicken penne that I've had in nicer restaurants. 5-stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lebryk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States