Chicken Penne Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Easy and filling meal! My family loved it. I will definitely make again. It was a little bland but with a few tweaks it worked well for my family. I doubled the pasta amount, added another TB of cornstarch and a little over 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also didn't have bell peppers on hand so I sautéed the onions and added another tsp of minced garlic. I also breaded the chicken with bisquick, salt and pepper prior to cooking. It made about 8-9 cups of warm goodness with a hefty amount of parmesan cheese over each portion. The only changes I might make for future variations is to add other tender vegetables, olives and mushrooms. Reading other people's reviews were very helpful in creating a successful meal for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I make something similar to this recipe. although instead of adding the cornstarch/ chicken broth mixture, i skip that step. after the chicken/veggies & pasta are ready to be mixed together, add a few tablespoons of olive oil along with some fresh cracked pepper & crushed red pepper flakes to taste. can even add (1tsp) balsalmic vinegar if looking for a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Fussy daughter liked it! Woot, woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This dish was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow! This recipe was delicious!! I marinated the chicken in italian dressing for an hour. I added mushrooms, omitted the green pepper & used a whole red pepper. I used 1/2 a red onion & for the tomatoes I used 'Rotel' canned tomatoes & chiles. I didn't have wine, so I used a little white vinegar(2 tablespoons). With this recipe, you can add more or omit ingredients to suit your personal preference. There was so much flavor, my husband & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Needs more flavor. Needs pepper and salt. Tastes more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I was looking for a chicken/pasta dish but I didn’t want anything too creamy and heavy full of calories. This was perfect because it’s light, all the ingredients blend well and it has lots of flavors. I didn’t have any bell peppers on hand, so I only used tomatoes. I think mushrooms would go really well too. Also, I used fresh basil instead of dried, this was a really nice addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Easy, I typically have all the ingredients on hand. My daughter and my husband really liked it. Only changes I made were to coat the chicken with flour prior to browning, adding some halved, sliced summer squash because I had it, and added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this dish for my family and it was a success! My hubby said to add it to our "normal meals". The only thing I would change next time is to drain the juices from the chicken before adding the bell peppers and onion. (This was probably my mistake anyway) The sauce was a little runnier than I'd hoped but was still delicious! Again, probably due to not draining the meat. I like the idea of adding wine to the sauce. Next time I am going to try it with a little less chicken broth and a little more wine. Other that that it was fantastic and my entire family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimie G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States