Chicken Pelau Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
The chicken came out very tough, but the rice was delicious. Next time I will make it with boneless chicken pieces, and add a little coconut milk. Definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I had to give one star cause it does not allow me to give less. We do not put curry in pelau. This is a one-pot dish, yes, but it takes a whole lot more effort and has a whole lot more flavour, including that of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I live in Trinidad, where the Pelau was invented, my family has asksed me to give some "Pelau education" and rescue the reputation of a national dish. Firstly, we dont use curry! Maybe a tsp when "seasoning" the whole chicken, but not to this extent. Secondly, Pelaus can be made with ANYTHING, it's the method that's standard . . . and this is not it. The actual method is somewhat tedious, though we do call it a "fast-pot" or "one-pot". I will post a more genuine recipe soon, but beware that we eat highly "seasoned" foods unlike those generally consumed in the US.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tunapuna, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Not bad, very easy to make without much cleanup required. Note that the instructions mentioned adding thyme, but it wasn't listed in the ingredients. I added a tsp, but should have added more, as the recipe did feel like it was missing "something". My kids and my husband enjoyed it (as did I, once I added some salsa.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This recipe is very similar to one given to me a few years ago, from someone in Saudi Arabia, for a dish called Cupsa (it's one of my favorites). The main differences are that my cupsa recipe calls for cinnamon (almost the same amount as the curry), some cumin, bay leaves, and diced tomatoes. My husband likes it with Ranch dressing but I prefer Tabasco on top. Yuuuummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I gave this a 3 out of 5 - curry flavor was nice but it lacked something - not enough taste for us. Was definitely quick and easy to make on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was ok. It was easy, but I'll make some changes next time. First of all, I thought the recipe called for too much curry. Secondly, I think it needs something sweet in it to lighten the curry a bit. Maybe coconut milk. I'd say this is an easy recipe with potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
excellent quick meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States