Chicken Pasta - Shannon Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was excellent! I did make some, minor changes. We are usually trying to cut back on carbs and fat thus I wanted to avoid the breaded coating and frying. I used boneless chicken breasts that had been marinating two days in Good Season's Italian salad dressing mix. I cut in small pieces and sauteed in a little olive oil until cooked through. I also used a lower carb, high protein pasta, Barilla. They didn't have bow ties so I used rotini. We all loved this and though I had increased the amount served to 8 for my family of 5 and a guest, there wasn't a bit left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This recipe was wonderful, although I changed the vegetables to fresh tomatoes and zucchini from my garden. Also added homemade greek salad dressing instead of store bought. Great recipe in salad dresings link works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was awesome. Didn't have Greek salad dressing so used heavy cream...was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Great recipe. I crumbled Feta cheese to match the Greek dressing and it was great. Try it if you like Feta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe as it was unique and very different, my friend, not so much. I tried to follow the recipe exactly but there were some issues: my store was out of red bell peppers so I used yellow and green instead, I forgot to get fresh mushrooms so I used some sliced canned mushrooms from the pantry, I was short on pasta so I used only half the amount called for. I look forward to trying this recipe again and next time will follow it exactly. The greek dressing I used was "Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing" that can be found on this site. I am only giving this recipe four stars because the directions for breading the chicken was difficult (using a ziplock bag is/was much easier) and because it did not have a recipe for greek dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great recipe but I had to make some adjustments to use what was on hand. Didn't have a "Greek Dressing"; used Hidden Valley Ranch Italian from mix using virgin olive oil. Also did not bread chicken but used seasoned frozen chicken breast which made the cook time quicker. Red onions gave a nice added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Coat chicken in a Ziploc bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
best pasta dish we have ever had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipe was amazing. As a beginning cook, my only concern is that it was hard to do all three parts of the recipe (veggies, chicken, and pasta) without one of them getting cold (my pasta actually stuck together because i made it too al dente and left it out). Besides that, the recipe was perfect. I added extra grape tomatoes instead of mushrooms, and the recipe says just the right amount of dressing to add. Eat it cold the next day - it's still great! Edit: I've made this recipe maybe ten times now, and I've found that the easiest way to time it is to boil the water while preparing the chicken and vegetables, then put the vegetables on to be cooked, followed shortly by the chicken (the pasta goes in once the other two are almost done). I use extra oil for the chicken so that the pieces don't blacken, just pouring extra in as needed. If you cook it the next day, I advise putting a bit extra dressing in; otherwise, the pasta can get crispy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States