Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I thought it was somewhat bland. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is so good. The only thing I did differently was first brown the chicken on both sides in the bacon fat. Then I removed it from the skillet, and sauteed the onion and garlic. I served this recipe over noodles. Next time I'm going to try adding a little sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We really, really enjoyed this! I had to make a few changes which I consider minor - used olive oil instead of bacon grease, 2 T. sweet paprika, 1/2 tsp Spanish smoked paprika, chicken broth instead of water, full fat yogurt instead of sour cream. The smell in the house is still wonderful, Husband and (grown) son loved it - daughter (grown) wouldn't come to try it - her loss! I did saute the chicken pieces with the onion mix before adding the broth - I don't know if this made any difference in the flavor. I will definitely make this again - a recipe so easy and so delicious cannot be lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Pitre
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Absolutely delicious!!! I did take the advice of one of your readers and I browned the chicken parts first using olive oil. Then I removed the chicken and sautéed some chopped red peppers and onion and garlic as well as the paprika. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mirdonna
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Substituted bacon grease for olive oil; Used chicken breast with skin and bone, but removed the skin before adding the final sauce. I added 3 chicken bouillion cubes to 2 cups of water. I probably could have used more paprika, but didn't want to overdo it. My husband loved the dish, but is not a fan of sour cream. He said the sour cream was a little too strong for his taste, so next time, I think I will add only half of a container of that. The dish was very tasty. For next time, I will also try using a slotted spoon to make the spaetzel, as a regular spoon produced pieces that were a little too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirdonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I just made this recipe and it's amazing! I'd only change one thing, I'd not add so much red pepper. I cut it down to 1/2 tsp. but that was till too much heat for me. Next time I'll go with 1/4 and this will be perfect for me. I think it overpowers the other flavors. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My Hungarian family makes this a little differently, for those who'd like to try: - Use cooking oil instead of bacon grease - Omit garlic, crushed red pepper & tomatoes (my grandma would be rolling in her grave!) - Increase paprika to at least 4 tablespoons Saute that chicken in onion & paprika mixture over low heat for at least 20-30 mins so that paprika really seeps into the chicken. THEN add water. - Add at least one more cup of water so chicken is completely covered while bubbling away - Add 4 seeded & quartered green peppers into water covering chicken (trust me) - Add 2-3 bay leaves - Add at least 4 tablespoons dried basil (yes, really) - Add sour cream if sauce too thin. Should be about as thick as syrup. Result: a very pure flavor of chicken & paprika with hints of basil & bay leaf. This dish takes lots of tweaking to master, so don't give up! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Real Paprikash doesn't have tomatoes in it. We only use chicken, skin on, bone in, a lot of onions, salt pepper real Hungarian paprika a little garlic and real sour cream. You can mix the flout into the sour cream to thicken the gravy. No need for chicken broth you're using the whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gale357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good. My family really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dry Ridge, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
It's not quite 4 but since there's no 3.5, I gave it 4. I guess I liked it enough but it's not quite what I expected. I had chicken paprikash last week at a local restaurant for the first time in my life and I quite liked it. It was creamy and the chicken was very tender as well. I didn't use the whole chicken but it was the sauce that I wasn't fantastically happy about. It was too sour...well more like tart...my hubby said. I thought it was the sour cream at first(I only had 16 oz tub so I tried to put "about" half of it in and I thought maybe it was actually a bit more than half and that made it sour. But I think it was the tomato. It was definitely not creamy like the one I had at the restaurant. Even though I liked it, I don't think I will be making it the same way again. I want to find a way to make it creamy and not as sour. Definitely I will not use tomato again of if I do, not as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States