Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I made this last night for dinner with only a couple modifications. I used 4 boneless skinless breasts. (Next time I'll use them with skin on - gives it more flavor) Instead of water, I used 3 cans of chicken broth. I added 1 bay leaf, ginger powder and garlic powder. I completely omitted the tomatoes and when it came time to use the juice, I used one ladle of the soup to dissolve flour and mix w/ sour cream. Although you can't have paprikash without spaetzel (egg dumpling)! Since there's no spaetzel recipe on this site, I'll post mine. Get a pot of salted water at a HIGH boil. Mix 1-1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. milk, 3 eggs. Drop spoonfuls into the boiling water and cook for 20 minutes, uncovered. Add to the paprikash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just some slight modifications to a dish I've made about 100 times (my family is Hungarian). I use probably 3x the paprika (no idea how much, I just keep dumping - it's nearly impossible to use too much) - make sure it's good Hungarian paprika (Szeged is common on most grocery shelves). Instead of pepper flakes, I add some hot paprika (again, Szeged) but you can add too much hot so use sparingly. I sear the chicken on both sides before adding chicken broth (vs water.) I also add some red bell pepper to the onion in the beginning and add the paprika part way through the sauteeing because this helps bring out the paprika flavor as well. I don't use garlic or bacon grease - just olive oil. Someone else posted their recipe for spaetzle and said to cook for 20 minutes. This will turn the spaetzle to mush. Spaetzle should be taken out of the simmering water with a slotted spoon once it rises to the surface as spaetzle/dumplings need to have some firmness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
As an expat living in Hungary for the past 3 years I can say that this is AUTHENTIC! Delicious! Make sure you make this with Hungarian paprika as the paprika in North America is nowhere near as good or strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This is an excellent Chicken Paprikash recipe. Very tasty. I browned the chicken in the bacon drippings first to crisp the skin, then removed it and added the onions, garlic, etc. Very tasty, with depth of flavor. I will definitely make this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Reakky delious. I substuited Olive oil for the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is a very good recipe, very tasty! The only thing i did differently is use boneless skinless chicken breast and cut them into cubes. I also substituted the water for chicken broth and added a little cayenne pepper. By using the bonless breast it only took about 30 mins to make, very quick and easy. I served it over white rice, even my picky eater 5 yr old loved it! Will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Family loved this. I made it with the Spaetzel recipe from reviewer "Ohiomom1". Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
My husband loved the creamy flavor of this. But the funny thing is, he hates sour cream. So of course, when he was raving about the flavor, I just smiled and said "thanks honey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Out of this world!! The chicken just fell off the bone and what a sauce. My daughter even raved. She's a very fussy teen too. I didn't change the recipe but I did leave a piece of the bacon in the whole cooking time for added bacon flavor. Also gave it a little more salt at the end, but that's it. Gona save this one for sure. Thanks, Gail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I saw this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. I know there were other recipes here for the same dish, but the ingredients here were more to my liking. I have never had chicken paprikash before, but after this I can promise you I will have it again. This was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States