Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I also used olive oil instead of bacon grease, doubled the paprika (which was smoked), and replaced diced tomatoes with a small can of tomato sauce. Just didn't have any diced tomatoes on hand. It turned out wonderful. A recipe that reminds in both taste and smell of what my mom used to make fifty years ago. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I'm vegetarian, so I substituted Quorn cutlets instead of the chicken and threw in some mushrooms. Also, used butter as suggested instead of the bacon fat. The recipe came out perfect. I had a veggie paprikash soup and loved the sauce, so I had to try it with the veggie substitutes. The cutlets don't need the full hour to cook and the mushrooms were thrown in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
There are several spaetzle recipes this would be great with. I saw a Hungarian soup recipe in our local paper and it makes me curious for other Hungarian fare. This sounds delish and I will make it and update my rating! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BinkyKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I am hungarian and have grown up with a simple recipe that my mother made with butter salt and paprika and sour cream. I must say this recipe blows hers away! It has so much more flavor and kick! They only change I made was insted of bacon grease I used butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is truly authentic! It's one of my favourite dishes that my Hungarian grandparents would make when I was little. I added a bay leaf near the end of the simmering phase; next time I'll add it at the beginning. Some sliced and sautéed mushrooms would definitely add more taste and depth to this dish. I usually serve it over homemade Hungarian dumplings called galushka, which is very similar to spaetzel otherwise over some store-bought egg noodles. Thank for bringing back the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
You need to have Hungarian Paprika. I just ordered some online. Without Hungarian Paprika you may as well not make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Heartburn on a plate. Bacon grease makes it sooo greasy. Not for us! ICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good recipe. I used chicken stock instead of the water. If you like it spicy, use the 1 tsp. of crushed red pepper. I used just a couple shakes and could still taste the heat. I used boneless, skinless chicken tenders. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I made this and my wife finished her plate and was looking for more.... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I have never made or had Chicken Paprikash before, so maybe I just don't care for paprika too much. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using 4 cubed chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I always have my husband rate new dishes on a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the best, and he gave this between a 2 and a 3. Nothing stellar. There is an Indian dish with similar ingredients, Chicken Makhani, that my husband gives a 5. It uses several different spices and has no paprika, and it has tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, yogurt instead of sour cream, but its a stewed chicken dish much like this. If we had never had the Chicken Makhani, we might have rated this one higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States