Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It was just ok for me. I really didn't think the flavor was that great. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
loved it followed recipe as as written!AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I used chicken thighs and brown them first then sauted the onion. I also added some extra salt. It tasted much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I grew up with my hungarian mom's more "traditional" paprikash (which had no tomatoes, and i believe even more paprika), but for my non-hungarian boyfriend i tried this recipe first... he LOVES it, and so do i. We've made this several times, and because he prefers dark meat, we've adapted it to include only leg quarters. Also, i use 1 cup chicken broth in place of the water, and a bit more garlic, and use 1/4 tsp black pepper in place of the red pepper (we're both sissies when it comes to spicy food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I omitted the tomatoes and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Being Hungarian means I get to cook and eat great food...this is the real deal folks! The dumplings could be a little daunting but our go to recipe has always been one egg per serving beaten and 1/4 cup flour for every egg used...so 4 eggs + 1 cup flour for 4 servings. Just drop as big or little spoonful as desired into boiling pot of water and when they all rise up to the surface give it an extra minute to cook and they are done! Enjoy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just some slight modifications to a dish I've made about 100 times (my family is Hungarian). I use probably 3x the paprika (no idea how much, I just keep dumping - it's nearly impossible to use too much) - make sure it's good Hungarian paprika (Szeged is common on most grocery shelves). Instead of pepper flakes, I add some hot paprika (again, Szeged) but you can add too much hot so use sparingly. I sear the chicken on both sides before adding chicken broth (vs water.) I also add some red bell pepper to the onion in the beginning and add the paprika part way through the sauteeing because this helps bring out the paprika flavor as well. I don't use garlic or bacon grease - just olive oil. Someone else posted their recipe for spaetzle and said to cook for 20 minutes. This will turn the spaetzle to mush. Spaetzle should be taken out of the simmering water with a slotted spoon once it rises to the surface as spaetzle/dumplings need to have some firmness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Giant hit, very awesome, whole family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Switched out the bacon grease with olive oil; came out ridiculously good, thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I've had this dish but never prepared it myself. I also made the spaetzle recipe as I believe OhiomomI suggested and put it through a ricer into boiling water. I did substitute 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for part of the flour. Everyone loved this meal for sure!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States