Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Just some slight modifications to a dish I've made about 100 times (my family is Hungarian). I use probably 3x the paprika (no idea how much, I just keep dumping - it's nearly impossible to use too much) - make sure it's good Hungarian paprika (Szeged is common on most grocery shelves). Instead of pepper flakes, I add some hot paprika (again, Szeged) but you can add too much hot so use sparingly. I sear the chicken on both sides before adding chicken broth (vs water.) I also add some red bell pepper to the onion in the beginning and add the paprika part way through the sauteeing because this helps bring out the paprika flavor as well. I don't use garlic or bacon grease - just olive oil. Someone else posted their recipe for spaetzle and said to cook for 20 minutes. This will turn the spaetzle to mush. Spaetzle should be taken out of the simmering water with a slotted spoon once it rises to the surface as spaetzle/dumplings need to have some firmness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Giant hit, very awesome, whole family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Switched out the bacon grease with olive oil; came out ridiculously good, thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I've had this dish but never prepared it myself. I also made the spaetzle recipe as I believe OhiomomI suggested and put it through a ricer into boiling water. I did substitute 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for part of the flour. Everyone loved this meal for sure!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great tasting and very pretty to look at, but it seemed to make a lot more sauce than needed. If you're making it with dumplings, there's plenty of liquid to poach them in, rather than cooking them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made this recipe exactly as written. We love it and my husband is Hungarian/Polish. "Just like grandma's," he said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Kish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very very good, made with the Spaetzle, and 12 boneless chicken legs, had it for 3 days. A good way to having to clean up once for three meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Absolutely amazing! I made the spaetzle and wild rice. It was better with the spaetzle. Also used light sour cream to cut back on fat/calories. Didn't miss any flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly using Hungarian paprika. I also made spaetzle (thanks Ohiomom) and strained it through a colander into boiling water. My family LOVES this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timujin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was a delicious recipe. I followed it as written, the only departures being that I browned the chicken first and added the tomatoes about 1/2 way through the process. As others have mentioned, bone-in chicken and Hungarian paprika are essential to achieve full flavor. I used Hungarian half-sharp paprika instead of sweet paprika because that's what I had on hand, but it made the dish very spicy (just FYI). I served it with dumplings, but noodles or potatoes would be good, too. Not the lightest/healthiest dish, but really yummy comfort food and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States