Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I make this slightly different now, but this is close to what i do. I also add wine, no bacon grease, chicken stock no water. I cannot find hungarian paprika, so the red flakes really help. my friend in europe mixes sweet and regular and he says it's stellar. i use whole legs (so cheap) that i crack in half when i get home. I leave the skin on bones in- it doesn't take that long and you cannot beat the flavor. Then we remove the bones and skin afterwards. I also make speatzle to go on the side, but desperately need a spaetzle maker because it gets very messy. I also add 1 cubanelle pepper at the onion stage, and i forgot the garlic the first time i made it (how i don't know - i put it in EVERYTHING) so i leave it out of this dish. We love it so much i don't mess around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAPPHARMD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
If I could give it 10 stars I would! This is the best chicken paprikash recipe I've ever made - and it was so easy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I love this dish, I learned how to make it the same way from my mother. This is the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
We used chicken broth rather than water-- very delicious recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious! I chopped up two red bell peppers and sauteed them with the onions as well. I used bonless/skinless thigh meat and it was moist and very flavorfull. I have a feeling breast meat might become too dry. I also used chicken stock instead of water. Keep the liquid to a minimum (I got a bit carried away) if you don't want a runny sauce. Will make over and over again. So easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddeutsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was a very tasty dish. I used chicken thighs but removed the skin. I think next time I might try using chicken broth in place of water for a little added flavor. Served with green salad, rice and warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It was just ok for me. I really didn't think the flavor was that great. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
loved it followed recipe as as written!AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I used chicken thighs and brown them first then sauted the onion. I also added some extra salt. It tasted much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I grew up with my hungarian mom's more "traditional" paprikash (which had no tomatoes, and i believe even more paprika), but for my non-hungarian boyfriend i tried this recipe first... he LOVES it, and so do i. We've made this several times, and because he prefers dark meat, we've adapted it to include only leg quarters. Also, i use 1 cup chicken broth in place of the water, and a bit more garlic, and use 1/4 tsp black pepper in place of the red pepper (we're both sissies when it comes to spicy food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States