Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is an old family favorite! My family is Hungarian so I grew up eating this wonderful stew. My husband had never heard of it before meeting me, now he LOVES it! I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts and skinless drumsticks. I also add a bit more flour and sour cream because I like the sauce to be creamier and thicker. I love mushrooms, so I usually add a small can with the tomatoes. Instead of making dumplings (which is the traditional way to serve this dish), I use wide egg noodles. The house smells so good while it's cooking and I can't wait to eat the leftovers the next day! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
It turned out very well. I used olive oil instead of bacon fat like many mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Sounded so good.... turned out to be very bland. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty good and quite simple too. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces. Also, I cut out the bacon grease and just used olive oil... add chicken stock in place of the water any time you can, it greatly enhances the flavor of the dish. Other than those minor details, I followed this one to the letter. DO NOT skimp on the crushed red pepper... I used a good, healthy teaspoon full. The meal would have been terribly bland without it. We had this served over egg noodles, but rice would've worked well too. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Yum! Simple and delicious. I used 2 cups of cooked, shredded/diced chicken and cut down the simmer time. The second time I made this, I added 2 large sliced carrots. My husband and daughter ate it both times with egg noodles and hardly talked until they were scraping the gravy out of the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Good, good stuff! I doubled the sauce as suggested and used chicken broth instead of water. I was so tender and wonderful. It is certainly worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessinthekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Okay, tasty, but the consistency was a little "gluey".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Grew up on this, pretty much right on the mark. Added 1 tsp of Hot Paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bela B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
We enjoyed this so much. I used the flour to coat the chicken and seared it in bacon drippings. I used boneless thighs because that is what I had on hand. It was delicious. Definitely worth making,and I know this will be something we enjoy even more in cooler weather! We served it over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish506

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States