Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Pretty darn tasty. The bacon grease yeilds a slight smokey flavor. I cut up the chicken into bite-size pieces, so tenders or loins or breasts... doesn't matter, whatever is cheapest. I think, while not as authentic, would be better over rice or with ready-made tortellini (popped in and cooked with for about 5 minutes). I only used one can of chicken broth, not 3 as a review suggested, and I still found it way to soupy. In a bowl I put a ladleful of the liquid with some cornstarch, whisked it up, and put it back in the pot. I also think I may put green beans in at the last minute next time, as perhaps it could use some "green" in there somewhere. Good stuff, not too spicy and quite flavorful, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Made as indicated, except possibly more garlic. I went easy on the red peppers because I'm feeding a toddler. I'm on my third bowl of this today, it was delicious! The suggestion to have nice crusty bread is a good one. I used penne pasta which worked great for holding onto the sauce. Definitely a favorite, and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I found this to be way too spicy with not enough paprika taste. No matter how much doctoring I did, I could not get the heat from the crushed pepper flakes less noticeable. I think I will stick with my original recipe I've used for years. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is delicious and SOOOOOOOOO easy. I made it 2x in one weekend! Once for us and once for a sick friend. YUM-O from everyone! I cooked 3 slices of bacon chopped up with some chopped onion to get the whole thing started. I used smoked paprika because our store had no hungarian paprika (bummer!) but it was still delicious. I followed the recipe from there using boneless, skinless breasts and 1 can of chicken broth in place of the water to cover. Served it over egg noodles. YUM!! Like I said, this was VERY easy and so simple. Good enough to put into the weeknight rotation! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Good, but kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I saw this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. I know there were other recipes here for the same dish, but the ingredients here were more to my liking. I have never had chicken paprikash before, but after this I can promise you I will have it again. This was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
My family is Hungarian and has made paprikash for as long as I can remember. Also, for as long as I can remember, I never liked it. It always came off as bland. The last time my mother made it- she added some dashes of cayenne pepper to kick it up. It was much better after that and had much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
As an expat living in Hungary for the past 3 years I can say that this is AUTHENTIC! Delicious! Make sure you make this with Hungarian paprika as the paprika in North America is nowhere near as good or strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Made exactly as written. I can't put my finger on it. It didn't taste bad. It just wasn't what we were expecting. Maybe I will try it again and FRY the chicken first to get a crispy coating and THEN continue the rest of the recipe. Chicken was just not quite right...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This dish was delicious and easy! The only thing I adjusted, was the crushed red pepper, which I only added about 1/2 tsp, since I was serving it to my kids. I just bought drumsticks and thighs, and the meat was falling off the bones. I served it with one of the reviewer's spaetzel recipe. I can hardly wait to eat leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States