Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe many times and live in a Hungarian area. Bucsha says this is tops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Sooooooo gooooooood. I've made this several times and each time I want to lick my plate clean. I can't believe how good this recipe is! I've made some changes based on other reviewer comments and I think I'm sticking with this from now on: olive oil instead of bacon grease, fresh Hungarian paprika instead of domestic stuff, I used 1&1/2 pounds of skinless, boneless chicken breast strips instead of other chicken cuts (this reduced the simmering time from 60 minutes to about 25 minutes), 1&1/2 chicken broth instead of water, and reduced fat sour cream instead of regular. I love this over brown rice and it's truly one of my favorite foods. Many, MANY thanks to Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Even my 11 year old liked this chicken dish. I made it exactly according to recipe and it turned out very well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My family loved this recipe. My husband made it and he used 1/2 of a spice container of Paprika and the Sour cream was a perfect touch. mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Simply delicious. I served over OHIOMOM1's recipe for spaetzel in these reviews - those were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe is very delicious and authentic tasting. I sauteed the chicken first, removed it from the pan then sauteed the onion and returned the chicken to cook. I substituted chicken broth for the water. I made extra and brought it to my neice who just had a baby, she loved it!! A co-worker smelled the leftovers at work and begged for the recipe. This is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy2303
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is so good. I usually make it into a Mexican style dinner with beans and rice and make burritos out of it. Really good. I usually use olive oil instead of bacon grease cause I always have that on hand and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Delicious! I did make a couple of revisions....used chicken breasts cut into pieces instead of a whole chicken, chicken stock in place of water, and crushed tomatoes rather than diced. The crushed tomatoes thicken the sauce nicely, and the flour is not needed. This one's a keeper for me! EDIT: also forgot to add that I used 1 1/2 TBS sweet Hungarian paprika and 1 1/2 TBS smoked Spanish paprika. The smoked paprika adds a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I had never made paprikash before nor had I ever tried it. My family was delightfully surprised. I will make it again, probably soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Pretty darn tasty. The bacon grease yeilds a slight smokey flavor. I cut up the chicken into bite-size pieces, so tenders or loins or breasts... doesn't matter, whatever is cheapest. I think, while not as authentic, would be better over rice or with ready-made tortellini (popped in and cooked with for about 5 minutes). I only used one can of chicken broth, not 3 as a review suggested, and I still found it way to soupy. In a bowl I put a ladleful of the liquid with some cornstarch, whisked it up, and put it back in the pot. I also think I may put green beans in at the last minute next time, as perhaps it could use some "green" in there somewhere. Good stuff, not too spicy and quite flavorful, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States