Chicken Paprikash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I have never made or had Chicken Paprikash before, so maybe I just don't care for paprika too much. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using 4 cubed chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I always have my husband rate new dishes on a scale of 1 to 5 with 5 being the best, and he gave this between a 2 and a 3. Nothing stellar. There is an Indian dish with similar ingredients, Chicken Makhani, that my husband gives a 5. It uses several different spices and has no paprika, and it has tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, yogurt instead of sour cream, but its a stewed chicken dish much like this. If we had never had the Chicken Makhani, we might have rated this one higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
i used olive oil instead of bacon grease. Quite good, my childhood best friends mother used to make this all the time. Just like I remember. I did cut down the red pepper so my kids could handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
A really good recipe! I'm almost full-blooded Hungarian so I'm always wanting to eat anything that is of that origin. I loved the paprika in this dish and I actually added an additional tablespoon. I also used chicken broth instead of water, added 2 bay leaves to the mixture and used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Next time I will make it with bone-in-skin-off chicken breasts and see if that deepens the flavor a bit. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe came out great. I used fresh ground pepper ( the kind that has the four dif color peppercorns in it ) and a pinch of cayenne because i didnt have red pepper flakes. After the chicken was cooked through, I took it out and set it aside, then made the "Dumplings" recipe from this site, added a can of chicken broth to the pan and mixed it in then dropped the dumplings into it. Covered the pan and cooked them for 10 mins as the dumpling recipe says. While that was cooking i made the sour cream mixture. Once the dumplings were done i mixed the rest of the stuff back in, including the chicken, which i removed all the bones from. I also added another tablespoon of my sweet hungarian paprika, which was a mistake, i should of went with the suggested amount, a pinch of cayenne, and a little tiny bit of extra salt when i put the can of broth in. This turned out so good! My family members who make this put red wine or something in it. It was interesting to taste the traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was delicious. Just the right amount of spice. We used boneless skinless chicken breast halves which we cut into strips about 2" wide. We reduced the cooking time down to 25 minutes. We used chicken broth instead of the water and olive oil instead of the bacon grease. We served it with homemade spaetzel (the recipe in the most helpful comments listed). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
love it, love it ,love it ,very authentic would not change a thing!! This is the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I wouldn't change a thing. If you make as is I think you have a real comfort food winner. I serve over pasta for those extra carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this recipe yesterday, I found it quick, easy and delicious! I used fire roasted diced tomatoes (Muir Glen) and an 8 oz container of sour cream. I also bought some good quality Hungarian paprika. I had boneless chicken breasts so I used them instead of the whole chicken. I added a bit of garlic powder during the cooking time and a little more salt and pepper and served it over brown rice. I garnished the dish with finely chopped fresh parsely. Wonderful recipe! The husband and son LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
You must try this! Very tasty, very simple. My changes were more technique than substance. I (like others) cut back on the pepper flakes (1/4 tsp) and Paprika (3 tsp) not knowing the strength of either. I will surely invest in some good paprika and bump up the flakes. I added the toasted caraway suggested earlier, definitely a good thing; also did not drain the petite cut tomatoes. When the chicken was done, I removed it and put a pound of green beans in the sauce while the rice cooked. Removed the beans when done. I thicken sauces a little differently, brought sauce to a boil and added (good quality) potato flakes. Took the sauce off heat and blended sour cream. Very yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainLadyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I brown the chicken first, though. It renders some of the fat out of the skin, adds flavor, and improves the texture. Also, red pepper flakes can vary greatly in heat, so a teaspoon might make your dish way too hot. I'd start out with a 1/4 tsp or less. You can always add more. It came out very well for me, but I couldn't figure out why it seemed to lack the unique and very delicious flavor of the paprikash a Hungarian friend used to make for me. Eventually, I found out it was CARAWAY that provided that taste - about a 1/2 tspn of seed, lightly toasted in a dry pan and gently bruised. Just what it needed,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States