Chicken Paprikash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 3 because I could not find hungarian paprika but made the recipe anyway. I added cayenne pepper but still found it somewhat bland. It was easy to make. I used chicken legs and kept them in the pan the whole time even while I cooked the onion. I also omitted the white wine and increased the amount of stock and sour cream per other reviewers' suggestions. I will definitely try it again if I can find the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I NEVER review the recipes I get on here, I sadly must admit! But this one I had to!!! This was my first time making the dish, and it was wonderful! I did have to increase the paprika by a lot, but followed the recipe to a tee. Thank you! I am actually going to make this dish again in 2 days once this runs out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Apparently Hungarian paprika isn't extremely handy around my area, so I had to settle for Spanish. I knew that would make this dish pretty, but bland, so I added a small amount of crushed red pepper, sugar, and fennel. Definitely added some flavor that would have been missing otherwise. I also used diced chicken breast, because that's what I had handy. Someday, I hope to make this recipe with bone-in chicken and the correct paprika, but I thought it was great even just working with what I had. Like others, I would make more sauce next time. And I just finished the leftovers--they're awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
EXCELLENT! But not a 5 star recipe due to so many changes needed. 1st, if you're not going to use bone-in chicken then don't complain if you end up with a dish that's just "okay". Half the flavor of any dish calling for bone-in chicken comes from the bones. I did this: bought a chicken cut up from the grocery & removed skin, sprinkled w/ kosher salt, pepper, & paprika before browning. For sauce I added 3 cloves of garlic minced; 1 & 1/2 cup wine, 2 8oz boxes chicken broth, 1 & 1/2 cups water mixed with chicken stock base, 1 cup fat free sour cream, 1 tbspn Olivio (butter sub). Put LOADS more paprika in than called for, both Hungarian paprika & HOT Hungarian paprika (probably 1/4 cup paprika total). Added more salt & pepper. When chicken was done, I removed, de-boned & returned to pan after letting the liquid cook down to 1/2. Still had several cups of liquid & would NEVER recommend reducing to what this recipe says. Mixed a few tablespoons of flour with the liquid from the pan & added to sauce to thicken. Served over noodles. STELLAR! Restaurant quality! Company worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Hmmmm...I don't know what to say but we really didn't care for this at all. My son liked it very much, but neither hubby nor I did. We didn't think it had much flavor although I actually added more paprika than called for. I did use Hungarian sweet paprika, maybe that made the difference? Sorry, we just didn't care for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe. I omitted the onion and used some onion powder per my taste. I used all chicken broth instead of broth and wine. I also made with three boneless skinless chicken breasts. It seems like the paprika and sour cream measurements are off as I probably doubled everything and then some to make alot of sauce. Served over noodles. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I love chicken paprikash but could never make anything close to Mom's. This recipe is very close but I did change a couple of things to make it even more similar. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 1 cup of sherry, 1 cup of sour cream, omitted the chicken broth, 2 chopped garlic cloves, and tons of freshly ground black pepper. I also never removed the chicken from the pot and it was perfect! I served mine on top of home made spaetzel. The leftovers the next day were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My Mom is from Hungary, I have been making the family Paprikash for years, when I saw this recipe I combined the two...Add (3) cans of low sodium Chicken broth and (2) cans of water, follow the recipe then add the broth and water. I also use 1/2 cup of Paprika, it's more like a soup / stew. Then I use my Mom's Spaetzle recipe and drop in at the end...It's so delicious, my entire family LOVES it, great on a snowy day. Get some hot Italian bread for dipping and away we go...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very good. I used 8 oz of boneless cooked chicken breast pieces, 1 tblsp paprika, 1/2 c. white wine, 2 c. chicken broth, 1/2 c. sour cream and salt & pepper. Did not use the onion or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very good dish! Instead of a whole chicken, I chopped up one jumbo chicken breasts (or 2 average-sized chicken breasts). I doubled the amount of paprika and added a bit more of chicken broth and it turned out great. I served it with a side-dish of pasta (from allrecipes.com) rather than serving it atop ordinary / unflavored pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States