Chicken Paprikash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My family loved this! I took Paty's advice, made it in the slow cooker and used her dumpling recipe. I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Made it as written the first time; made it with modifications the second time: added 1 clove minced garlic and added it with the onion. Doubled the sauce ingredients, except for the sour cream. Added one thinly sliced green pepper and cooked with everything for the last 10 minutes. Did not reduce the liquid. Made with the Pioneer Cut Dumplings recipe on this site. With the modifications, it tasted just like what my mom used to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Slightly bland- and I even added a little extra paprika! Good enough for my boyfriend to go back for seconds though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was excellent! We'd gone to Budapest recently and I had a wonderful Chicken Paprikash, which I wanted to try to replicate. This was a bit different, but lovely all the same. Here's what I used: 2 ckn breasts, 1 tbl sweet paprika, 1/2 hot paprika, 1/2 c wine, 1/2 c water, 1 c sour cream, extra sour cream, a pinch of garlic powder, and as per the recipe olive oil, and onion. I followed the recipe until #2, when I found it unnecessary to remove the chicken to boil it down. Instead, I left the ckn in to desired thickness, then added the sour cream and a bit of flour to thicken, and even more wine and water if desired. Over spaetzle, this was great! Can't wait to share with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
BF's mom used to make this for him all the time. I have never made it. So I was a little nervous how mine would hold up. He loved it! I used chicken breast and plain yogurt in place of the sour cream. I ended up adding more paprika at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this was very good. i used hot hungarian paprika for the first time. wow! what a difference it made. this was flavorful and spicy. i used 2 split leg quarters but left the sauce the same amount and added sour cream. if i make this again i would remove the skin off the chix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
As several reviewers have said, this needs considerably more paprika than the recipe calls for. I used about 3 TB and it was delicious, but could still use a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I'll admit I was skeptical about this one. But after one bite, I couldn't stop eating! I served this with dumplings. Delicious! My husband is excited there is leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was looking for a different way to cook chicken, and found this recipe. I cook for myself, and often, things taste all right, but not always notable. This is a really good recipe. While making it, I found that the sour cream I had on hand was questionable. So, I substituted a little grated parmesean cheese, and it still came out well. I did follow some of the other reviewer's suggestions of adding garlic, extra paprika, cayenne pepper, and a bit more wine than the recipe calls for. The aroma rising from the cooking process is truly unique, and somehow comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is vay good! I added smoked paprika and it was the best. I do not use the white wine my children don't like the taste of the wine. I do add a little cheyanne pepper and I like to use a stronger chicken broth. No need to make changes it great over grandma brand noodles from the frozen section I like them chewy and the husband does not like dumplings so this is a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States