Chicken Paprikash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is fabulous. I use Hungarian Paprika and bone in chicken. I use thighs. My husband the Hungarian loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very good, passed the leftover test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I didn't care for this recipe much but my husband loved it. I used Hungarian hot paprika and it did have the perfect amount of spice to it. I skipped the wine, this didn't seem to matter much. The sauce turned out kind of greasy. Next time I make this I'm going to skip the olive oil and not brown the chicken first to see if this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was really good. It does need a lot of salt and pepper, I seasoned the ingredients with every step. I added garlic and celery just because I had some that needed to be used up, and I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Very Very greasy and took almost an hour and ten to cook. I followed exactly-even REAL paprika. The sour cream did not mesh with all the grease from chicken skin. If using bone in chicken as I did maybe remove the skin??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made exactly as described, garnished with parsley. First bite was a bit tangy -- used chardonnay wine. Is that why? Also, my partner complained that the sauce was a little "gritty." I didn't think so, and I don't know what would explain this. I would appreiate any thoughts from other reviewers who have tried this one. I thought it was very good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annalou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was good! I've never had chicken paprikash before, but it's one of my boyfriend's favorite dishes. I had to use regular paprika, which was okay. I plan on buying the real stuff. While I did really enjoy this (I served it over bread dumplings), I'd never make it for the bf because rumor has it, his mother makes a mean dish of chicken paprikash. And it's well known not to compete with mama's cookin'! So, I'll keep this little gem to myself. Thanks Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
5 stars. I have no idea how traditional this is, but it was delicious. Only thing I added was red pepper flakes and a clove of garlic (and some s&p along the way). Oh and I used thighs vs. the whole chicken since that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This recipe is a good start. I have been to Hungary several times and actually watched how this dish is prepared though it varies greatly from cook to cook. It is best cooked with a whole cut up chicken with the skin on or at the very least bone-in chicken breasts with the skin still attached. Add several cloves of garlic while cooking the onions-and you can even use a red onion for additional color and flavor. You may also use bacon drippings instead of lard or olive oil. The bacon drippings add additional smokey favor to this dish. Use 2 cups of diced onion. I used nearly 1/4 cup of regular hungarian szeged paprika and a little hot paprika to taste. Be sure to salt and pepper the chicken while browning- sprinkled with a little smoked paprika. Be sure not to burn the paprika because it will become bitter. I also used 12 ounces of chicken broth and added a little saffran to help layer the flavor and enhance the color of the sauce. The equivalent of one medium diced sweet green pepper should also be added. You will probably want to add more sour cream and a dollop on the plate when serving. This dish should be started in a skillet then transferred to a heavy pot to finish cooking ( approx 1 hour). It can be served still on the bone but usually is deboned. Always serve with hearty homemade noodles or spaetzle ( never italian pasta). This is a hearty fall/winter dish and should be served with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Ok...for everyone out there that thinks this recipe is a little bland....I agree with you. Try adding 2-3 cloves of garlic to the saute (but don't burn it) or some garlic powder once you add the wine and broth. Also add a couple of bay leaves to the broth and 1/2 to 1 teaspoons of ginger...and while you're at it.....double the paprika (Hungarian of course).....and for those of you that are doubling the sauce recipe....try 3 T of paprika first and then see if you need any more. But above all.....make sure you are adding enough salt. I cannot stress that enough. Salt bring out the flavor in food. Even when baking a good dessert cake from scratch, the recipe will require salt (and if it doesn't....add at least 1/8 teaspoons.....you won't regret it...i promise). So taste this dish as you're making it a couple of times to make sure it's salty enough (without over doing it)....keeping in mind that the sour cream in the end will take away a little bit of the saltyness. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States