Chicken Papadoris Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I thought this was a descent chicken dish. I did not care for the flavor of the curry, but I did like the creamy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was an excellent dish and was enjoyed by all in our family. I made a few modifications to suit our taste and what we had in the cupboard at the time). I added extra minced garlic, a couple of dashes more of soy sauce, used 7 oz. coconut milk and 7 oz. low fat milk as well as added a couple of pinches of red pepper flakes. I didn't have any cornstarch on hand, so I used a flour and water mixture to thicken--something that worked well for me in a pinch. This is something that we will definitely be fixing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Just ok but nothing great. Maybe I was expecting too much beccause so many people gave it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This was so good! My family is very picky so I was a little afraid to try this, but my kids loved it. It is very mild but at the same time flavorfull. I didn't have any coconut milk so I just used regular milk and it turned out fine. I served it with the Indian Style Basmati Rice and it was a good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This a great recipe, but it is was too bland for me. If you are looking for a tasty recipe to experience the wonderful tastes of curry for the first time, this is a perfect one to get started on. If you already love curry dishes, then you'll want to kick this one up several notches. Some previous reviews mentioned doubling the spices--I will go 3 or maybe 4 times the curry next time. This dish has great flavor, just not enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This is a very good recipe... I enjoy spicy coconut milk-based recipes. For DH and me, I add more curry powder as we like it *spicy*! To the reviewer who commented about subbing milk for the coconut milk: cow's milk has cholesterol, coconut milk does not. Cholesterol is an animal product...no plant materials contain cholesterol. Thanks, Mr. Anatooskin, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I didn't think this recipe was flavorful enough for me, but my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This recipe sounded nice, but the method didn't seem correct to me (and how anyone could find it too hot/spicy with just one tsp curry powder for 8 people astounds me !). To release flavor, spices need to be fried for a couple of minutes, so when onion/garlic were soft I added spices and fried for 2 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. I only made this for 2 people, but still used recommended amount of spices, but 1 Tbs soy-sauce (for 8 I would at least triple the spices). By using coconut cream instead of milk (140ml can for 2 people) there was no need to add water/cornstarch. Will do again, but use more spice - may also be good using cashews instead of pine-nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I have to give this a "3", which means it is good, not great, not outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly and it had nice, subtle flavors, but was way too mild. I will make this again and see if I can't nudge it to a "4" OR "5".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
FABULOUS! If I could give this 10 stars, I would! I made it EXACTLY as written and it's perfect. The only change possibly needed is to the curry for "heat". Perfect for serving to my 8yo son, as is....would up the amount of curry if it was for just my husband and I. Can't go wrong with this one!!!! YUMMY!! Thanks Mr. Anatooskin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States