Chicken Papadoris Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Delicious! Will make it again. Made it exactly as stated except fried the pine nuts in butter (didn't read the recipe right) - I don't think it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made some changes. I used 2 tsp Thai red curry paste and 2 tsp Indian-style curry powder. Everything else I kept the same and served it over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was easy to make, but BLAND! And who would have thought with all the spices added that it could be bland? I may have messed up by using minced garlic like you buy on the spice aisle... does this make a difference? That garlic was all over in little chunks. Also, the color of this dish was strange- kind of between yellow and light green. I do have a good idea of how to vary the ingredients and make different dishes the same way now- with this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My husband loved this, but I wasn't terribly fussy on it. It seemed a bit more saucy than I would have liked, a tad runny. The taste was lovely, though, if not for the texture. The next time I make this, I will likely reduce the amount of butter. I will follow the photos rather than the recipe and not cube the chicken - I'm hoping that this makes a bigger difference. I served this with cous cous. Good for soaking up the excess sauce, but it wouldn't be my first choice the next time. Otherwise, I liked this and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
What can I say I have made this 3 times and never get a complaint out of anyone. My mom doesn't like real spicy food so I put some on the side for her, as for the rest of us we love the heat. You can't go wrong with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Thank you thank you thank you!! This was fantastic. Reminded me a lot of a chicken korma. I did change this recipe quite a bit to suit my tastes but I'm still giving 5 stars because the end result was wonderful. Do watch those pine nuts carefully while toasting; those suckers love to burn without warning. One reviewer suggested adding shredded coconut and I think this would be a great addition which I'll try next time I make this (soon!) I may also try subbing half the milk with coconut cream for extra decadence. I did think it lacked sweetness so I added a little white sugar but coconut should solve that problem. I also upped the spices, half of which I added to the chicken and onion while it was frying, then half later to the sauce. I also added sauteed mushrooms and thought that they matched perfectly. Rather than "blandatize" the dish by adding cornstarch I just let it simmer longer and it thickened on its own, as well as tenderizing the chicken. Thanks to the OP and to all the great suggestions- I LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
MMM.....ok, I love spicy food, but I didn't find this spicy in the least and I still loved it! I followed the recipe, more or less. I didn't have any cornstarch and wanted to make a separate sauce. I used 1 TBS of butter to saute the garlic and onion, 1 TBS to cook the chicken, and 2 TBS to start the sauce (1/4 cup in total). I made a roux using those 2 TBS of butter w/ 2 TBS of flour. Then, I mixed in about 1 1/4 cups whipping cream and stirred. I added the spices, but increased them as follows: ~2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp cumin and ~2 tsp curry. I stirred until to desired consistency. I taste tested and thought it was delicious, but added the sauteed garlic and onions. I would skip on those next time, but the toasted pine nuts are a must! It made an eat-out-of-the-pan sauce! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was OK. I used light coconut milk, and followed the rest as written but it seemed to missing something. It definitely had potentially so perhaps I'll follow some of the other reviewers in adding additional spices. I'll make again to see how it turns out. Perhaps marinading ahead in some of the spices would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I've just finished enjoying this dish, and it's going into my recipe box. I made a few alterations. I added 2 heaping tsp of curry powder, doubled the cumin & cayenne, and added freshly chopped cilantro at the end - I also omitted the cornstarch/water mixture; it thickens up nicely on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina De Paulo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe was good. We like a little more spice so i used a hotter curry powder but at the same quantity as the recipe called for. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States