Chicken Papadoris Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong, but this was just boring...Not horrible just boring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I probably won't make this recipe again. At least, not in any form that would be recognisably the same. I halved the amount of chicken and coconut milk, but kept everything else more-or-less the same, to get a more intense flavour in the sauce. It smelt *incredible* whilst it was cooking, but... just didn't taste of anything. It was really weird!! I did thicken it, and I wonder if I lost some flavour to the weird effects of cornstarch, but both my boyfriend and I found it 'nothing'. The best I can say is that the first mouthful reminded me somewhat of Marks & Spencer Chicken Tikka Masala (which is awesome!!) - I think it's the mix of coconut and butter. I'll try adding more soy sauce and some tomato paste to the leftovers to see if I can enhance the resemblance, but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was so easy and delish. I loved it. Was very rich, thought I wanted a second helping, but this was so filling couldn't do it. I also didn't have the pine nuts on hand. Don't worry, wasn't missing it. I also didn't see the need to thicken this, and I added about a pinch of red pepper flakes. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Very good, had to add much more spices and mushrooms for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was alright. I won't make it again as is; the chicken came out pretty dry (which is my own fault, but nevertheless...) I had served this over white rice, and did think the sauce with the rice was very good. So I'm going to tweak it a little and hang onto the recipe as a curried rice side dish, leaving out the chicken. I thought the flavors went well together, it wasn't bland, or for that matter, too spicy, and the pine nuts were a pleasant addition. Definetly worthy of a little fiddling with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I didn't have pine nuts. I think they must really add to the dish. My husband loved it. I was expecting more flavor from the coconut milk and the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I loved this recipe. Though I agree it could have used more spices, particularly cayenne and curry. As colorful as it was, I expected more flavor. The pine nuts are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This is one of my favorite dishes. I love the texture of the pine nuts. Sometimes I use light coconut milk, it's not quite as rich and velvety, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
After reading reviews,I added 1/4 tsp. of ground cayenne and 1/2 tsp more curry, 1/2 tsp onion powder,a few sliced fresh mushrooms, cut the onion into thick slivers instead of chopping, used low sodium soy, added 1 tsp. chicken boullion and used 1/4 cup chicken broth instead of the water. I omitted the cornstarch as I don't need the extra carbs or care if it was thickened (that would also make it bland-er). Also, added brocolli tops the last few minutes for a quick low-carb meal. It was VERY GOOD. Fried rice would of been wonderful with some of the sauce but we are eating only the healthier carbs. Will definitely make again with the changes and will add more vegetables (matchstick carrots, bok- choy, snow peas etc.) when we are using more carbs. Thank you William, my Thai restaurant's not going to see me or my $ as often (when I can make this quick and easy at home)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was sooo yummy! I omitted the pine nuts since I didn't have any. I also didn't have paprika so I used some ground red pepper and cinnamon instead. It was really good and will be added to the dinner "rotation" at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States