Chicken Oreganato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I LOVE to cook, and have no problem spending hours in the kitchen preparing a difficult dish. So I was a bit hesitant to try this meal since it called for few ingredients and took little time to prepare. Am I glad I decided to try it!!!!! Not only did it take almost no time to prepare, but it was so good we were all fighting for the last piece -- this includes my 5 and 6 year old sons. It tasted better than many of my complicated dishes! The only thing I would like to add is that if you like to eat the skin (come on, admit it -- some of you do love chicken skin!), cook the chicken skin side down for the first 15 minutes so that it can dry and turn crispy for the last 15-20 minutes. Thank you Teresa for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I changed it up a bit. I oiled my baking pan with a bit of Olive Oil. I used Kosher Salt (don't be too generous w/ salt if you are going to make the sauce), Fresh ground black pepper and dried oregano. Generously rolled each chicken thigh piece in seasonings. Brushed with the lemon juice and olive oil mixture. I used 350 oven (convection oven - roast setting)temperature. 15 min. each side. Brushed with mixtured when turning chicken pieces.(skin side up first side)Then back to first side for a quick broil on the skin side up side for just about two or three min to get the skin a bit brown. Take chicken out of oven at 170 degrees, it will rise another 10 degrees while the pieces sit on a plate. Don't let them sit in juice or they will be soggy. For sauce: Pour off juices into a cup to separate the fat. Take most fat off. Pour juices , incl. browned bits, into a sauce pan. Heat with some white wine. Cook down until about 1/3 less. Add one tablespoon unsalted butter at the very end. Pass sauce with chicken. I liked this sauce alot on the steamed broccoli I served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I substituted boneless chicken breasts and baked at 350 degrees for 1/2 hour and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
My whole family enjoyed this chicken. I used bone-in skinless chicken thighs and added garlic salt to the mix. I also slow baked them for about 1 hour 15 min at 375 to make sure they were tender. Great recipe...I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I like this recipe cos its simple and quick and uses oregano - one of my favourite spices. To Jazz up the flavour even further, I omit the pepper and instead marinate the chicken for an hr in a marinade of oregano, salt, lemon juice, finely crushed garlic and a lil turmeric powder. Then I spoon the pieces and marinade into the baking dish, dribble a lil oil over and bake till a lil crispy. Yummm! and the turmeric gives it a nice colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Wow, this was really good! I had everything on hand and it was easy. Great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Other than a temperature variation (350F for 50 minutes) I made the recipe exactly. Can't say if it was good cold or not, because it never made it out of the kitchen! For those who found it "bland", I think perhaps they didn't season properly with salt and pepper. I actually didn't rub the oregano on the chicken (cause I'm lazy!) I assumed the rubbing was to release the flavor and oil of the oregano, so I just crushed the oregano before dipping the chicken in it. Then I salted and peppered LIBERALLY with Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. **I DID absolutely try making the sauce by using the drippings, adding 1/2 c white wine, reducing, then finishing with 1 T of butter. As good as the chicken was, the sauce was to die for!** Talk about easy! If you want to serve as a "company dish" it looks wonderful plated in a rotini pasta bowl, topped with the chicken sliced, ringed with steamed broccoli florets and drizzled with that phenominal sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I was afraid the oregano would be overpowering, but it was great! Not sure I'd like this on boneless skinless breasts - maybe too much oregano then. I baked at 450 for 15 min. then 350 for about 35 min. (had another dish to cook at same time at 350) and it turned out great. Hubby doesn't like baked chicken and said I COULD make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Great receipe. Very fresh and light tasting. I too used boneless chicken breasts. Ingredients are common and it is a quick easy dish to prepare. Definitely a keeper and would make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This was very tasty. Near the end of the cooking time I broiled the thighs, skin side up until the skin was crispy. This recipe seems Greek to me and I was putting Feta cheese on salads while these were broiling. I decided to add a bit to the top of a few of the thighs. Yum...the flavor was even better. Next time I might work on making some kind of a Feta sauce to serve with them. BTW...they are low carb too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States