Chicken Oreganato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good, we enjoyed it. I didn't have oregano (oh horrors!) but I did have the ambiguous "Italian Seasoning" which worked out well, and in addition to the lemon (lemon courtesy of the abundant lemon wedges from our haddock dinners this weekend -- frugal, huh?) I added some lemon zest. Oh and I also substituted seasoned salt for table salt. (I know how much some people hate it when you change up the dish, but in reality, I didn't change the essence of the recipe much. Very tasty dish, I'll make it again. I like recipes that don't call for a a bunch of different ingredients, or ingredients that you might only use for that recipe alone -- and this recipe works out very well, uses things I usually already have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Grateful for this recipe!! My husband is a very picky eater, he thoroughly enjoyed this chicken. I eyeballed the ingredients, and used garlic salt instead. Only critique from my family, could have used fresh garlic in the rub. Easy, tasty dish! I baked @ 375 for about 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
my husband loved it was very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am giving this 5 stars based on what I did to the recipe. The original does call for salt and pepper to be added to the oregano, so if you don't do that, I can see where it would be bland. I used lemon pepper and tiger seasoning in with my oregano. I skipped the step of rinsing and drying my chicken. I dredged it in my oregano mixture, placed it in my pan, then drizzled the EVOO and lemon juice over the top. I baked it for a little longer than called for (because my husband wasn't home yet). I served it with roasted asparagus and rice pilaf...I loved the flavors of this dish and could see it with other spices as well. I will be making this again, and again! It doesn't hurt that I love chicken thighs to begin with and this gave me another fool-proof method of preparation! Thanks, OP for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Other than a temperature variation (350F for 50 minutes) I made the recipe exactly. Can't say if it was good cold or not, because it never made it out of the kitchen! For those who found it "bland", I think perhaps they didn't season properly with salt and pepper. I actually didn't rub the oregano on the chicken (cause I'm lazy!) I assumed the rubbing was to release the flavor and oil of the oregano, so I just crushed the oregano before dipping the chicken in it. Then I salted and peppered LIBERALLY with Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. **I DID absolutely try making the sauce by using the drippings, adding 1/2 c white wine, reducing, then finishing with 1 T of butter. As good as the chicken was, the sauce was to die for!** Talk about easy! If you want to serve as a "company dish" it looks wonderful plated in a rotini pasta bowl, topped with the chicken sliced, ringed with steamed broccoli florets and drizzled with that phenominal sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
very good and simple recipe. My husband and I both loved it. I almost didnt make it because of the coments that said it had no taste or it was bland, however i did try it and I disagree. It was great. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was fast, easy, and delicious. I had never made thighs before and I'm glad this recipe had all the stuff I had at home already, minus the lemon (I used 1 Tbsp bottled lemon juice instead). I also had to put a piece of foil just lightly resting over the dish in the oven as it started to sputter and smoke, but otherwise kept the recipe as-is. It's a good one for the weeknight hustle. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
DELICIOUS and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was amazing! I cubed the chicken instead and then used an instant chicken flavored rice. Definitely a keeper and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Two words: juicy, delicious! I might experiment with some other seasonings because although it did have a heaping helping of oregano, that flavor didn't really do it for me. I might add some more lemon, too. All in all this is definitely a meal I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Oven-Fried Chicken III

With or without the skin, this oven-fried chicken always bakes up moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States