Chicken Oreganato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
if you follow the cooking times, your chicken will be done, however the skin will be white. If you like it more brown and done on the outside, cook the second side for 25 minutes, and then broil for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I thought this came out good. I used lemon juice and put enough on it to where you could taste the hint of lemon. But my husband was not satisfied with it. He didn't like it and does not recommend that I make this dish again. Sorry maybe will make again when his not home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really liked this and the b/f did also. We will make it again. Sorry about how small they look in the photo but I did boneless ones. Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good, we enjoyed it. I didn't have oregano (oh horrors!) but I did have the ambiguous "Italian Seasoning" which worked out well, and in addition to the lemon (lemon courtesy of the abundant lemon wedges from our haddock dinners this weekend -- frugal, huh?) I added some lemon zest. Oh and I also substituted seasoned salt for table salt. (I know how much some people hate it when you change up the dish, but in reality, I didn't change the essence of the recipe much. Very tasty dish, I'll make it again. I like recipes that don't call for a a bunch of different ingredients, or ingredients that you might only use for that recipe alone -- and this recipe works out very well, uses things I usually already have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Grateful for this recipe!! My husband is a very picky eater, he thoroughly enjoyed this chicken. I eyeballed the ingredients, and used garlic salt instead. Only critique from my family, could have used fresh garlic in the rub. Easy, tasty dish! I baked @ 375 for about 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
my husband loved it was very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am giving this 5 stars based on what I did to the recipe. The original does call for salt and pepper to be added to the oregano, so if you don't do that, I can see where it would be bland. I used lemon pepper and tiger seasoning in with my oregano. I skipped the step of rinsing and drying my chicken. I dredged it in my oregano mixture, placed it in my pan, then drizzled the EVOO and lemon juice over the top. I baked it for a little longer than called for (because my husband wasn't home yet). I served it with roasted asparagus and rice pilaf...I loved the flavors of this dish and could see it with other spices as well. I will be making this again, and again! It doesn't hurt that I love chicken thighs to begin with and this gave me another fool-proof method of preparation! Thanks, OP for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Other than a temperature variation (350F for 50 minutes) I made the recipe exactly. Can't say if it was good cold or not, because it never made it out of the kitchen! For those who found it "bland", I think perhaps they didn't season properly with salt and pepper. I actually didn't rub the oregano on the chicken (cause I'm lazy!) I assumed the rubbing was to release the flavor and oil of the oregano, so I just crushed the oregano before dipping the chicken in it. Then I salted and peppered LIBERALLY with Kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. **I DID absolutely try making the sauce by using the drippings, adding 1/2 c white wine, reducing, then finishing with 1 T of butter. As good as the chicken was, the sauce was to die for!** Talk about easy! If you want to serve as a "company dish" it looks wonderful plated in a rotini pasta bowl, topped with the chicken sliced, ringed with steamed broccoli florets and drizzled with that phenominal sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
very good and simple recipe. My husband and I both loved it. I almost didnt make it because of the coments that said it had no taste or it was bland, however i did try it and I disagree. It was great. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was fast, easy, and delicious. I had never made thighs before and I'm glad this recipe had all the stuff I had at home already, minus the lemon (I used 1 Tbsp bottled lemon juice instead). I also had to put a piece of foil just lightly resting over the dish in the oven as it started to sputter and smoke, but otherwise kept the recipe as-is. It's a good one for the weeknight hustle. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States