Chicken on a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was an excellent recipe and VERY easy to prepare. I didn't use the tenderizer, opting for the addition of worcester sauce, soy sauce and lemon pepper(thanks to another reviewer).I added green pepper and onion to the kebob and kept the all pieces close to the same size size. The whole family raved about it and it'll be great for company(everything can be prepared ahead of time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious and it doesn't get much easier than this! I opted out of the meat tenderizer and used Kraft light Italian dressing. I cut the chicken in to cubes for kabobs and poked it a bit with a fork. I added a couple tablespoons of olive oil, some rosemary, Italian seasoning, white wine and minced garlic. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate all day. So simple and yet so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Outstanding flavor and tender. I cut the boneless chicken breasts in medium sized pieces and marinated for 3 hours. I also added to the dressing, worchester sauce, soy sauce and lemon pepper marinade per the recommendation of another reviewer. Adding pinapple chunks along with red and green bell pepper and onion really rounds out this dish. Only change I would make is to use less meat tenderizer (to much salt). I served this with a fruit salad and french bread. After one bite, my husband confirmed this one is a keeper. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Goodness gracious, this was juicy and tasty! I cut boneless chicken breasts into 3 pieces each to make them easier to cook on the grill. Then, I followed the advice of the other reviewers and added a splash of soy sauce and a splash of worcestershire and a shake of lemon pepper to the recipe and marinated the chicken for about 3 hours. Then, I threw a handful of hickory chips on the gas grill and cooked the chicken on metal skewers along with some mushrooms. I started the grill on medium, but quickly turned the heat down to low to keep the chicken from burning. It took about 5-7 minutes a side to get done. The smell while cooking was unbelievably appetizing, but the taste was even better! You gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
My daughter picked this to make for dinner and they turned out fabulous! Easy ingredients and fun to make. She added a splash of soy and worchestershire sauce to the marinade and put the meat in the refrigerator for 3 hours. She made them a bit fancy by using chicken and steak and added peppers, onion, mushrooms, pineapple, and mandarin oranges to the kabobs. They were fantastic. Will try to marinate the steak over night next time to get it really tender. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Sometimes the simplest ingredients make the best marinades. This is the case here! I followed other reviewers' advice and added soy sauce and worcester sauce to the dressing: very good, even after sitting only 3 hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was good and easy enough, but nothing special. It was great to use in a pinch, as it requires so few ingredients and so little preparation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This tasted great and simple. I think my daughter just likes skewers but she happily ate her Chicken on a Stick without any problems. I cooked in the oven because I really didn't want to get the grill out. Also, I added some green peppers and red onions on the skewers. Served with "Dill, Feta and Garlic Cream Cheese Spread" with Italian Bread, "Sugar Snap Peas," and "Country Green Beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Delicious stuff. I did trim the tendon or whatever that chewy white stuff is in the center of the breast out. It was just super easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very simple and delicious. I used chicken tenderloins and used wooden skewers. It started raining so I baked them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States