Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
THE VERY BEST!!!! I've made this several times and it is always delicious. I made it last night for my parents and they couldn't stop raving. My mom is an awesome cook -- most everything is made from scratch -- and both my mom and dad said this was the BEST SOUP they've EVER had (they are in the 60s-70s). I think my dad ate four huge bowls and he asked for some to take home!!!! That is the highest compliment!! I make a few minor revisions -- I double the onion, butter, carrots, black pepper and bay leaf and add minced garlic. I also make the Boiled Chicken recipe from this site (using 4 lb. raw chicken) and use all of that chicken PLUS part of that broth instead of all water (probably 2-3 cups of the broth and 9-10 cups water). I also cook it alot longer -- a couple of hours -- before adding the noodles. I also use frozen noodles (Reames brand). These noodles are thick and hearty and really make for a delicious, homemade taste and presentation. Thanks Sherry for an awesome recipe!!! Now, I'm off to have a bowl for lunch. I'm glad I didn't give all of the leftovers to my dad to take home!!! ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Don't need cooked chicken the chicken can and should be cooked with the soup. Can swap chick broth for cubes and water. I added 4 times the carrots. Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Not good, but can be easily improved. Saute veggies,or micro or use frozen peas, carrots, etc. Second, don't use bouillon cubes. They're terrible tasting, not healthy (way too much salt, no nutritional value) & make awful broth. Instead use Swanson's chix broth instead, this is the closest to homemade & it's true. It's worth the extra cost to use "Swanson's", as their broth is nutritional, plus non fat. Per other reviewer, OK to cook the chix w/the broth. Can substitute noodles w/pastina, alphabet pasta, orzo pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
fantastic soup!I used 2 boxes of Swansons Organic Chicken Broth along with 4 cups of chicken stock instead of the chicken boulillon and water. Added a small bag of frozen white corn. also, i used a whole store bought rotisserie chicken instead of just chopping up cooked chicken meat. I placed the whole chicken in to the pot when adding the veggies, spices,and broth and simmered it all for 30 minutes like the recipe says to do. Then removed the whole chicken from the pot and removed the meat from the bird then placed the meat back in to the pot of soup. I've had so many complements on this recipe it is unbelievable. Everyone says it's the BEST chicken soup they have ever had. Thanks so much for this wonderful easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This was so good...I sauteed the celery and onions as directed and then threw everything into the crockpot and cooked it on low for about 7 hours.. I didnt have any egg noodles so the last 20 minutes of cooking I broke up pieces of lasagna noodles and threw them in..It was great!!.. I served it with grilled cheese sandwhiches and it took me back to when I was a kid and my grandmother made the same meal for me... Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Delicious soup! I put all ingredients in crockpot except noodles, simmered for 6-7 hours, turned to high then added a bag of Reames frozen noodles. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
this recipe was easy for a guy who only cooks while the wife is at work. i added an undiluted can of cream of chicken soup and a can of cream of celery soup. she not only raved about it but she froze the leftovers and made another meal of it a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very tasty! On my second time around I added twice as many carrots and half the butter so it wasn't as greasy. I also used boneless chicken thighs. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
So easy to make! My mom has always made homemade chicken noodle soup, but doesn't go by a recipe. I've been wanting to make it for my fiance and this is pretty close. My fiance loved it! He said it was just as good, if not better. I also made some modifications. The main one being that I used my crock pot instead. It cooked for about 4 1/2 hours, but could go all day, I'm sure. I cut the recipe to serve 7 because I only have a small crock pot, and it fit perfectly! I also boiled 3 boneless/skinless chicken breasts and shredded it with a fork instead of chopping. And I didn't use the bay leaf or parsley because I didn't have any on hand. :) Note that the broth may look a little watery--my fiance and I both thought so--but he tried it and it tasted awesome. (I'm a vegetarian, so I can't taste test :) But of course, it all depends on your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIZEEMONKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe is delicious and very easy to make. You can substitute left over turkey in place of the chicken for something different. This is a keeper and will be part of my recipe file for a long time. Thank you Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Sobota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States