Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made it with some variations after reading the reviews and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I will defiantly be making it again!! 4 cups chopped, cooked chicken meat 2 cups chopped celery 1 cup chopped carrots 1 cup chopped onion 1/2 cup butter 8 ounces egg noodles 12 cups chicken broth 1 teaspoon dried marjoram 1 teaspoon ground black pepper 2 bay leaf 2 tablespoon dried parsley 1 teaspoon fennel seed 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning 1 teaspoon rosemary 1 can cream of chicken soup Directions In a large stock pot, saute celery and onion in butter or margarine. Add chicken, carrots, chicken broth and all seasoning. Simmer for at least an hour. Skim some of the seasoning from the top. Add noodles and cream of chicken soup, and simmer for 15 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Sorensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have always wanted to make chicken noodle soup and this was the first recipe I found that was so easy I tried it. My family loves it. I add mixed veggies and more then called for. I also double the chicken bouillon cubes. Very delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us it is in my recipe box forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I thought this was pretty darned good. As others have suggested, I made it in a crock pot—just dumped everything except the noodles in and left it on high for four hours. I then shredded the chicken and added the noodles to cook. A few notes: 1. I started with 10 cups of water rather than 12, and I'm glad I did. You can always add more! 2. I thought this recipe needed a lot more salt, so make sure you test the result before serving. 3. Next time I make this, I'll buy chicken thighs rather than the breasts I used this time. The soup was good, but I thought the broth would taste better with a little more fat, and the breast meat seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very, very good and very, very, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
too salty, but if you cut the number of bouillon cubes in half it would be much better... also, next time i will use pulled chicken instead, i'm not a fan of cubed chicken in my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
It was great. I, like others, altered slightly. My kids and I love noodles, so we did 16 oz noodles, extra carrots, more pepper, and did a 4 cup water, 5 boullion, 4 cups swanson chicken broth mix. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneybrown

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Super easy and yummy! Think of all the preservatives you leave out when making this homemade! The only thing I did was sauteed the carrots with the onion and celery b/c otherwise they are too crunchy for me. And, I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted oregano. I've made it with both types of noodles, but prefer the frozen egg noodles in this which takes a little longer, but, overall, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poki07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome easy recipe...... Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe! It was perfect with the cold i have. I didn't have the egg noodles so i just broke up some spaghetti pasta. I sauteed the pasta for a few minutes with a little oil to keep them from getting too soggy later. Also when i cooked my chicken i kept the broth and added less bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Oh my. This is the greatest chicken noodle soup I've ever had! For everyone who believes the recipe is too bland, believe me it works out. Instead of any regular old chicken I just so happened to have frozen rotisserie chicken from Costco. So I defrosted and shredded the whole chicken. I also use the stock. While the soup was simmering I added the chicken bones, to help shred off any chicken that was still on the bones and to get extra flavor. I didn't h e any marjoram on hand so I used poultry seasoning thyme garlic powder and fennel seed with fresh black pepper (fennel really adds a kick). Great thing is salt doesn't have to be added the boullion does the trick. However, I used 14 cups of water instead of 12, seeing that the pasta just sucked up all my water. Other than that this is an amazig recipe that is definitely a keeper! I served with fresh pugiliese bread from Costco's ovens. And don't be fooled by the picture, the "liquid" is packed with flavor and the butter doesn't grease your pallets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States