Chicken Noodle Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This soup turned out really good, I took some other posters advice and used about half homemade chicken stock and half store bought stock. I cooked 4 chicken breasts with carrots, celery, onion strained and shredded the chicken. Sauteed carrot and celery in the bottom of pan for just a couple minutes added homemade stock and box stock, cooked until veggies were tender, added half the chicken (used the other half chicken in a chicken salad) and noodles. The noodles were chewy but I rolled them as thin as I could get them. Some people loved the chewy thick noodles and others didn't but everyone like the flavor of the soup. It was a hit! I can't wait to make it again. Next time I will either use store bought noodles or use my dad's pasta maker to get the dough really thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This might as well be the best chicken noodle soup on the planet. I LOVED IT! Very tasty! I didnt use the pasta; instead, I used rice. And even though and made more minor changes here and there, it still turned out delicious, especially for someone who has no experience with soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessofnora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Oh. My. Goodness. This recipe is classically what a chicken noodle soup should be. My family loved it. The time spent making the noodles is absolutely worth every minute. I let the noodles dry while the soup simmered and they came out perfectly. The homemade noodles bring this recipe together like apples in apple pie; without them, it just wouldn't be the same. I added a cup of peas and a little Lawry's Seasoning Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This soup was so good! It was a time consuming, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copperbug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Really good recipe. I left out the corn because frankly I hate it but otherwise, very good. Easy noodle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very good soup recipe. I too, was to lazy to make the noodles,(my mom would be horrified)I used packaged noodles. I added extra garlic,and bouillon. We are still eating in (3) days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
The taste was ok and it was fun making my own noodles, but it was alot of work for soup. I don't think I'll make it again.......at least not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I loved this recipe!! It was fantastic! The ONLY thing I did different was to add bay leaf and some sage. The noodles are fantastic. You don't have to let it simmer for 2 hours. Just simmer it until the veggies are cooked. I also didn't simmer it after adding the chicken and the corn. I just didn't see the point. I used canned chicken and canned corn and it still came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Excellent Soup!! I didn't have a lot of time, so with a pre-cooked whole chicken from Trader Joe's, and two boxes of low fat and low sodium chicken broth... I followed another reviewer's suggestion to save time and sauteed vegetables in olive oil and garlic. I used what leftovers I had (small zucchini, a few broccoli heads, a little celery and a few baby carrots) along with a chopped onion. I used frozen peas instead of corn. I didn't have time to try the homemade noodles (though am looking forward to trying them) and used really wide egg noodles. We like LOTS of noodles, so I doubled the noodles called for. Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt, a dash of different season salts, some thyme and rosemary and my husband really loved it! Thanks for this easy and basic recipe that only took about an hour and 1/2!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe because it has more than just chicken and noodles! I am a huge soup lover so I make this often. I have proved to myself and others that I can make homemade noodles so to save time I've used penne pasta or egg noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States